Winter Market Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was delicious! The apple is a must (I used Fuji). I left out the celery root and used half the dressing. The combination of the sweet veggies/apple and tangy dressing was perfect, and the apple added a nice juiciness and texture. Very easy to prepare, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I really liked this, once I got past the appearance. Of course, the whole salad turns a uniform neon red from the beets and I found that unappetizing, but the flavor combo of the veggies and the dressing was great. I kept to the recipe and used a food processor for quick shredding. It tasted best after sitting a couple hours. Served with herb roasted pork tenderloin and was a great accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is delicious. The changes I made: I left out the celery root and just added in extra beets and carrots. I didn't have dijon mustard but felt like it needed some heat, so I used regular mustard and a dash of dry mustard. Next time I make this I may try other veggies like radishes, onions, peppers, etc. The beets have such a different flavor raw than when cooked, which is good because I don't care for cooked beets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This is one great salad! I had to leave out the celeriac-- it's not easy to come by around here. The apple is a must-- it just goes so well with everything else. Thanks for the recipe, Lynzee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
very good salad , not very sweet , but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a cheap, easy-to-prepare fresh salad for the winter, when our immune system really needs a boost. The cheery colour is an added bonus. Don't leave anything out of this salad! The dressing is delicous too. I just used a tablespoon less apple cider, to lessen the sour flavour. I think I will be making this salad often from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kata

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Katherine
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I gave it four stars. I followed the recipe to the letter but for me it lacked flavour. Next time I make it I will try using sesame oil instead of olive oil as I think it would better complement the crunchy texture of the vegetables used and give it more of an Asian taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I just love the idea of this recipe = fresh ingredients in the winter time! I didn't have any beets, so I made the recipe the first time without. The celery root is a must, I think, it adds a pepperiness that is just lovely. I thought the sauce was very sour due to equal amounts of Olive Oil and Cider Vinegar. I've made the recipe a second time and replaced the olive oil with some mayo and added less cider vinegar; the rest of the dressing I left the same. Another wonderful addition is some diced red bell pepper (in my case, instead of the beet), this adds crunch and sweetness without adding more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Followed the recipe, but only used about a third of the dressing. We really liked it, and I will definitely be making it again. Next time I might add some nuts for crunch - toasted walnuts, or even sunflower seeds...but it was quite good as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Had a gathering of 9 ladies to dinner. Didn't want a "salad" to go with my tureen of beef stew. This looked more interesting! Not only was it a great hit, but was glad there was left over for me the next day. I grated veggies day before and refrigerated each separately. Then layered them in a glass serving bowl, added the apple and the dressing and Wow, what a hit! Did use a wee bit less vinegar as one reviewer suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States