Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
Loved it! After 45 minutes of simmering I added another 2 cups of chicken broth and fresh cracked black pepper. I then simmered for another 45 and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIEMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Excellent soup! The curry gave it a little bite, but the flavor was nice, and it had a nice 'meaty' texture. I didn't bother to precook the lentils, used chopped tomatoes, and doubled the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Very nice. thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
This is a delicious soup and quick to prepare if you have a chopper. I am looking for good tasting healthy recipes and this fills the bill 100%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I've never made lentil soup before, and this turned out great. I used a can of diced tomatos to save time chopping and it was perfect. Using my food processor made this recipe a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I found this to be a very good soup. However, I made a few changes because I wanted to make a lot. So I used 1 1/2 cups Lentils, 3 celery, 2 garlic cloves, added 2 14 oz cans of petite diced tomato's with Jalapeno's for some zest, a whole head of cabbage, 6 carrots, 5 cups of organic free-range chicken broth, and 4 cups of water. I dbl'd the spices and added a Greek-Allspice. I ended up with a big, delicious, pot of Lentil's and veggi's. Wonderful, healthy, and low in fat. Cant go wrong with that!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This was a big hit with everyone in my family. It was very easy and the sort of meal where anything goes...I used brown lentils, diced tomato, no curry powder, etc. It's the lovely sort of soup where you can through in just about any kind of vegetable. I'm not usually a big lentil or vegetable soup fan, but this was surprisingly good. The leftovers were good for lunch the next day too although there wasn't a whole lot of broth left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This is a great soup! If you don't undercook the lentils they break up and just give it a 'meaty' texture. I doubled the chicken stock to make it less stew-like and more soup-like and added a couple tablespoons of fresh parsley. It's easy to make, low-fat and low-calorie, and so yummy you forget it's good for you. Definately a staple to keep on hand for munching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
I changed the ingredients a little using 1 cup of mixed red and green lentils,2 overflowing cups of cabbage, diced canned tomates and 4 cups of broth. All other ingredients were the same. I did not preboil the lentils. I cooked the onion, carrots and celery in 1 tbsp of oil for five minutes then added the remaining ingredients and simmered covered for one hour. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
this is sooo good! I used crushed tomatoes instead of whole and used 3.5C chicken broth and 1.5 cups lentils I didn't cook the lentils before hand. It is great recipe because you can mix it up some. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States