Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is a yummy vegetable soup, and my first time cooking with lentils. I used brownish lentils because they were the cheapest at the store, and doubled the recipe because we were having company for dinner and I didn't know if 6 one-cup servings would be enough for the 5 of us if someone wanted seconds. I ended up having a TON of soup leftover and froze some of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This soup is so easy to make and tastes delicious!! i make huge batches of this all year long . Low fat and high protein perfect recipe for watching your weight and keeping u full!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenside, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This is a great soup. I made a few alterations..I added smoked turkey sausage, 2 14 oz cans of diced tomoatoes (one was fire roasted), and extra chicken stock and water. I also sauteed the onions, carrots and celery and I did not precook the lentils as other reviewers had suggested..I cooked about 8 hrs in crockpot and it turned out great! The house smelled great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Changes: extra curry no salt, sub braggs amino acids no sugar, sub agave Next time I think I will add some sweet potatoes. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This is a fantastic soup! This latest time I was out of cabbage, so I substituted fresh spinach leaves, and it was delicious that way, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
The lentils got too mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This is very good and pretty simple to make. I made a few slight changes - I doubled the chicken broth because I don't think there was enough liquid. I also added 3 garlic cloves and zucchini. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This is a solid recipe for a healthy and economical stew. To me, it was good, but not delicious. For just a little bit more effort, you can make what I consider to be pretty delicious lentil soup. I really like "Slow Cooker Lentil and Ham Soup," by queendiva1. Of course, the soup would no longer be vegetarian. Like others mentioned, the curry in this stew is fantastic. I added the amount called for in the recipe, but if I make this again, I will definitely add more. I would also consider adding hot sauce to stew with the vegetables, as opposed to adding it later just as a condiment. What I didn't enjoy is the canned tomatoes. Everyone's palate is different, but I am realizing that the taste of canned tomatoes is a big turn off for me. If you don't mind tomato skin in your soup, it wouldn't be too hard to chop up some fresh tomatoes to throw in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohnooto

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This is a very hearty soup for having no meat in it. Pretty tasty too. I had no trouble with the lentils being soft following the directions. They were cooked through. The only thing I did different was to sauté my carrots, onion, garlic and celery in a little olive oil before adding the broth and tomatoes. I think it is the key to a good tasting soup. Just took the lentils out and drained added the evoo and veggies, quick sauté and then followed the recipe again. If I make this again I will forgo the whole tomatoes and use the petite diced tomatoes. Thanks for sharing Cecile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This soup was really good! My wife and daughter who have recently turned vegatarian said it had alot of flavor. I will be making this again for them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States