Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Even 1/4t of curry powder was too much for us! I added more chicken stock to dilute the curry flavor, and that worked well. This is a thick soup, more like a stew. Easy recipe for crockpot - 8 hours on low cooked all the veggies and raw lentils through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I had to omit cabbage & carrots because I didn't have those ingredients on hand. I added chicken and a can of rotel (tomato & corn) and it was absolutely delicious. I have made this soup on more than one occasion and it is consistently satisfying. I have substituted beef broth for chicken broth and added potatoes, depending on what I have on hand. It's really hard to mess this soup up, each tweek was as delicious as the next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Healthy, economical and easy. I threw it all in the crockpot for about 10 hours on low and it could have stayed even longer. A little bland but some added hot sauce did the trick. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is great over a bowl of rice, and an inexpensive recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I try new recipes every week and this one is a keeper. It's truly tasty in spite of being soooo healthy (cabbage is of the cruciferous veggie group that prevents cancer; lentils help lower cholesterol because they have soluble fiber, which is hard to find). I cooked the onions in a little oil until very soft, then sauteed the carrots and celery a few minutes as well, before adding to the soup. I also used 2 14 oz cans diced tomatoes and 1 28 ounce can whole stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa.murakami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I cooked this in my crockpot on high for about 3 hours. I don't like cooked tomatoes so I subbed 1 diced sweet potato. I had a cabbage but really needed to use up my bag of coleslaw which was so much easier too! I found the soup to be bland and had to add more of the spices. We still felt like the soup was lacking, so I diced up 1 link of beef sausage & cooked it on the stovetop, then adding to crockpot. The sausage really brought the soup together for us and now I will definatly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Quite possibly the best soup I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Very hearty and delicious. Best when made in slow cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
really enjoyed for low calorie soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent! Sauteed veggies in olive oil before adding to soup - my husband loved it too - served it with a multigrain artisan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States