Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was very good. I used vegetable stock and added fresh mushrooms and carrots. Served it to friends who loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori VE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I was excited about this because of all the rave reviews, but was disappointed. It just didn't work for us. It wasn't bad, but I wouldn't say that it was good either. My husband said that he'd eat it again if I made it again, and my 2 & 4 year olds didn't eat more than one bite. Oh, well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Very good soup. I added lots of extra veggies and 4 more cups of water, but I kept the seasonings the same and it still turned out plenty spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Wow! This was a great recipe! What a wonderful soup to have on hand for those cold nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Delicious! When I make this again I will add the pepper in small amounts so I can control the spiciness. Used lots of cabbage. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
i did this in the slow cooker for 6 hours and it could have used another 2-3. . . too crunchy still but very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Very good, hearty, filling, healthy, delicious! Easy to make too -- I often use my crock pot! Add other veggies if you wish (corn, potatoes, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Only ok-- the lentils are the best part. I used a full cup of red lentils and upped the broth to 3 cups. Instead of plain cabbage, I used a package of broccoli slaw. I didn't have any celery, so I added some celery flakes. I upped the spices a little since I added more broth. I cooked it in a crockpot for 4 hours on high and around 1 on low. The end result was fine, but it didn't reheat well and the color turned kind of blah... The beans pretty much turned to mush after a day. The soup was fine the first go around, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
Excellent soup! The curry gave it a little bite, but the flavor was nice, and it had a nice 'meaty' texture. I didn't bother to precook the lentils, used chopped tomatoes, and doubled the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States