Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
great recipe great for New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Tasty and easy to make, even for the culinary-challenged like myself. I've used canned lentils and dried - either way it turns out well. I did have to add an extra cups of water and the juice from the tomatoes because the broth alone does not seem to add enough liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I used a whole bag of lentils, added more water and chicken base, increased seasonings to accomodate extra liquid and served with fresh whole wheat rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Yum! DH and I really enjoyed this. The curry added a nice depth, and the black pepper gave it more zip than I had imagined (that's a good thing for us, though!). I used 3/4 c lentils, veg broth instead of chicken, and added about 3 cups EXTRA water. I didn't pre-cook the lentils, either--1.5 hours is more than enough time to get them cooked! Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Yum yum yum! This is a really nice vegetable soup. Flavors are great, not to mention that it is healthy and cheap. I used 4 fresh tomatoes instead of canned (canned have citric acid - I'm allergic). Because the fresh tomatoes are sweeter than canned I would leave the sugar out when using fresh. We had this for dinner with grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I excluded the cabbage and made recipe as follows. It was really good and cheap to make for large groups! everyone had second bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAGAMOI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This is a great recipe!! It was a little spicy with the curry-so I just leave it out. This soup is also good with a little diced chicken in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was truly awful! It smelled bad and tasted even worse. It was too salty and lacked any appreciable flavour. I actually ended throwing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Great recipe! We made it as directed, except for the exclusion of currey (we were all out), and it turned out great. We even made some more to freeze for a quick lunch or supper. The pepper adds a good amount of spice, so if you're sensitive, you might want to cut it down a little, however we enjoyed the kick. All in all, this is a hearty, filling, inexpensive, and low fat\ low cal recipe that is tasty as well. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Loved this soup!! I added garbanzo beans which were great. The next time I cook it I will add more lentils also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States