Winter Lentil Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
As written, 3 stars. Embellished, 4 stars. It's a great starting off recipe. I sautéed the veggies, except for the cabbage, in olive oil, then added about 5 cups of homemade veggie stock, tomatoes, lentils and cabbage and nearly tripled the spices including lots of black garlic pepper and simmered everything for about an hour. It was really good. Better the next day and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is a wonderful, easy, healthy recipe. I did find that it needed a little more salt and I also added a splash of hot sauce to give it a little kick. I served with crackers and even my meat-loving fiance loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Really enjoyed this soup. Did it in the crock pot.Our lentils were a little al dente but it offered a nice texture. Didn't have curry so we used Mediterranean seasoning and it was great. I think this would be good with barley. Thanks for a great lentil recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKAT777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I thought this was pretty flavorless, despite adding more spices - and the cabbage, in my opinion, was not a good addition. Maybe Kale or a heartier green and the addition of some sweet potato, celery root, white potato even some cannelini beans would give it more dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This recipe is very good as written. I have gone back and made it a second time making a few changes, however. I basically just doubled the recipe except for the carrots and sugar. Instead of the stewed tomatoes, I had diced on hand, so I used a 14 oz regular diced and a 14 oz with green chiles. I also increased the celery by maybe half. The second time, I only had brown lentils on hand, so I used those instead. Second time around was also good, if a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is yummy! The curry is really what separates this veggie soup from others, so don't leave it put! I didn't precook lentils, and I used about 6 cups of homemade stock. I doubled the curry because of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&N Q.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I tried it last night. I prepared Jenny's variation. It has such a strong flavor to onion (which I like, but I expect to taste other flavours as well), the thyme didn't seem to work either, the amount of cabbage was excessive, and the least of the ingredients, which you could barely see or taste were the lentils. My family loves lentils, but this recipe was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Best lentil soup I've made. Perfect with homemade bread and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Made this last night. Very good. I didn't precook the lentils. I put everything in my presser cooker and cooked it for 7 min. Turned out perfect. Added some frozen peas when it was done. Was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was absolutely wonderful!!!!!!! I followed the advice of another review by making the recipe with more lentils and liquids and it lasted us for several meals. We love to heat up soup for lunch with a grilled cheese sandwich or bread during the cold winter months. Here is the review that I followed: "to take out some of the starch I rinsed & drained the lentils. I followed the amount of ingredients suggested by the tool except for these items: 1 1/2 c green lentils & 1/2 c red lentils, 3 stalks celery, 1 large onion, 4 c chicken broth & 6 cup veg. broth, many more cloves garlic 1/2 crushed 1/2 chopped, finally 1 tsp hot curry powder."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States