Winter Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Excellent soup after my alterations! Everyone loved it! My initial reading of this recipe alerted me that it would be a very bland tasting soup. My only alterations were that I used 2 pounds of Yukon Gold potatoes, added 1 sliced celery stalk and added a large bay leaf. I also substituted the garlic powder with 4 garlic cloves that I minced and sautéed with the leeks and onions. I used 6 ounces of shredded sharp cheddar cheese and omitted the parsley. I offered crumbled cooked bacon, fresh snipped chives and prepared garlic-Parmesan croutons as options for diners to top their soup serving with. Next time, I will use individual sized shepherd loaves as serving bowls and make homemade garlic-Parmesan croutons out of the scooped bread from the shepherd loaves. Tips: Yukon Gold potatoes won't get mushy like russet potatoes will when boiling them. Use russet potatoes if you want a thick soup and mash them when they are tender. Rinse the leeks in a bowl of cold water so to remove any sand, remove the leeks and wring dry in towels. Keep the cubed potatoes in a bowl of cold water till needed. Always turn off the heat before stirring in the cheese so that the cheese won't separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I used 1 Tbsp. olive oil and 1 Tbsp. bacon fat and sauted 2 cloves of garlic with 3 leeks [that's how my grocery store sells in a bunch]. Only used 4 potatoes and 4 cups of chicken stock. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This is a simple, basic leek and potato soup, unencumbered by a lot of unnecessary and distracting extra ingredients. Leeks, potatoes, chicken broth and a little milk or cream is really all you need and that’s what you get here. Still, I wanted a more pronounced leek flavor so I doubled up on that. While the potatoes were cooking I threw in a bay leaf and a good pinch of fresh thyme just to brighten the flavor. I used fresh minced garlic rather than garlic powder and skipped the parsley and cheddar cheese. When the soup was done I pureed it in a flash with my immersion blender. A drizzle of good white truffle oil took this soup from excellent to sublime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Simple and excellent! I only made a few minor changes. I used 1.5 times the half and half and cheese, and I used the Mexican cheese blend from Costco, since that's what I had on hand. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly, and it had the perfect texture and flavor. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I was actually looking for a pepper jack chicken soup, but thought this would do. Very good. I did do 1/2 cheddar 1/2 pepper jack to get the taste I was looking for. Didn't have leeks so used more onion. Four cloves fresh garlic. I threw in a half bag of frozen corn as well. Used heavy whipping cream. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Oh my this was yummy! I loved pretty much everything about it. The only thing is next time I might add a little bit of fresh garlic when the Leeks saute and I might add more leeks (i'm a leek nut). I might add a little more half and half and cheese next time. It was a little on the runnier side. Tasted amazing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTA8402

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I doubled the recipe and it was fantanstic! I cooked some bacon and had it on the side for anyone who wanted some. I tried it with and without bacon. Yum! If you make this trust me when I say you should double it! Leftovers are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Excellent! Creamy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I does need the garlic. Also, I used 3 leeks and added an extra potato. I like the soup creamy, so I held off on the cheese and put it through a blender to get it nice and creamy. Then I sprinkled the cheese on top - super!! Might try it with some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States