Winter Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I made this just tonight. I did one thing different, otherwise followed as written. I dredged some thinly sliced scallions in some flour and sautéed them in olive oil till crispy. I then used those for a topping when serving. Everyone here loved this hearty soup. I might add some carrots and/or corn next time. Even some pieces of chicken might be good. You could pump this up to be a chowder, more than a soup. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is really an excellent soup. The only thing I did different is purée it at the end. Super yummy for a cold, dreary day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I've never ate or used leeks before, but I received some in my CSA box last week. Easy recipe. I made a few seasoning changes and didn't have cream (whole milk & butter). Even my husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Wonderful soup! I made it exactly like the recipe and my family loved it. I also love the fact it's on the table in just an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this recipe when I saw it in allrecipe magazine. I made it exactly the way the recipe said except for using 8 ounces of cheddar and a little heartier amount of parsley and garlic powder. It wasn't super flavorful and the potatoes got kind of mushy (hence only four stars), but it did taste good and my husband really liked it, especially since I crumbled some bacon on top to give it a little more flavor and texture. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Delicious. Make it as suggested but I freeze it without the cheese & half & half. Add those ingredients just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This recipe has a good base; leeks, potatoes & onions. There is absolutely no need for butter, cream or salt. All you need is a soup pot or a slow cooker; add leeks, potatoes, garlic, pepper, vegetable or chicken broth, nutmeg, ground gloves and 4 pears (peeled). Let it cook until the potatoes are soft, take a hand held blender & blend until smooth. No added fat or salt - lets face it we do not need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is my favorite potato soup recipe because it is easy. I used a whole onion since I didn't have leeks. Used jack cheese because that is what was on hand. Fabulous soup. Served with hard rolls. Can't be beat. Throw some bacon bits in it and voila...heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
4 stars as written. I added 1 cup chopped celery and 4 minced garlic cloves (instead of the powder) to the leak and onion mixture before cooking. Very tasty and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitmore Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States