Winter Leek and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I made this twice in the last month. It's a simple soup, and if you aren't already a fan of the leek-potato combination, you probably should skip this recipe. My slight changes: I use vegetable broth instead of chicken, fresh garlic instead of garlic powder (sauted with the onion and leeks), and cheese on top before serving instead of stirred in. Some tips: I slice the potatoes thinly instead of cubing them--they cook faster that way and it is easier to mash them in the pot. I mash them roughly before adding the cream. The soup ends up with a lumpy, rustic consistency. So comforting on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is one of my favorite soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I didn't use cheese or cream or the garlic. It was perfect. Just used a potato masher and lightly mashed right in the pot.this is a nice light supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This soup was excellent. We puréed 3/4 of it at the end. And we used Kraft Habanero Heat shredded cheese and light (5%) cream And I added a bit of chopped garlic to the leeks and onions. With a ciabatta roll and a salad, it was a fantastic meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Amazing! Substitutions I used was used chicken broth, cut down the salt to 1/2tsp or so and put maybe 1/4 cup of 1/2 and 1/2. Wonderful soup--perfect started soup could eat as is or add all kinds of yummy additions. I added chicken apple sausage... THANKS! This recipe is a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea Shadix-Carroll
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I just made Winter Leek & Potato Soup for the first time ever & it is phenomenal! The only things I did different were to add only one lg. leek & I added two packets of Goya to give it a smoked ham flavor. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I make this whenever the leeks in the grocery look especially enticing. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Densieski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I made this just tonight. I did one thing different, otherwise followed as written. I dredged some thinly sliced scallions in some flour and sautéed them in olive oil till crispy. I then used those for a topping when serving. Everyone here loved this hearty soup. I might add some carrots and/or corn next time. Even some pieces of chicken might be good. You could pump this up to be a chowder, more than a soup. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is really an excellent soup. The only thing I did different is purée it at the end. Super yummy for a cold, dreary day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I've never ate or used leeks before, but I received some in my CSA box last week. Easy recipe. I made a few seasoning changes and didn't have cream (whole milk & butter). Even my husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States