Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Excellent! I used Havarti because I don't like Swiss, but I think any mild hard cheese would work in this recipe. The Lemon Poppyseed dressing is now a favourite, and I often make it for regular salads as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
My family loved this last Thanksgiving & reequested it for Thanksgiving 2000! Scrappin'RhodaJane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
This salad is outstanding!! I chose to omit the cashews and replaced them with slivered almonds instead. If I make this for lunch I include the swiss cheese but if I'm making it to serve to company with a meal I omit the cheese. This recipe is a keeper and people I've made it for absolutely went wild over it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
This is our favorite salad recipe now--I take it to all potlucks and serve it to guests at home. It is unique with the cheese, nuts and fruits. The dressing makes enough for 2 large salads. I always cut back on the amount of oil in the dressing to about 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This salad was surprisingly good, and everyone liked it (even the skeptical guests). The dressing is especially tasty, and the flavors mix very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Everyone loved this recipe, don't wait for Thanksgiving to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a big hit!! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Made it for my office holiday party. It was a hit! Got lots of raves and a few people asked for the recipe. My modifications: (a) I doubled the recipe but instead of using 2 heads of romaine lettuce I used one head of romaine and 1 bag of spinach. (b)Omitted the Swiss cheese. (c) Instead of cashews I added toasted pecans (toasted myself). Nuts such as pecans and walnuts seem to match the fruit and season better. (d) I added some dried cherries along with the dried cranberries. (d)Despite having doubled the salad I only needed half as much dressing because the dressing was on the side. Having the dressing on the side worked great. I used less, the salad didn't get soggy and the leftovers kept better. The leftovers were actually minimal. I made a huge bowl. Since the original recipes makes 12 - 1 cup servings, I made roughly 24 cups. At the end of the evening the rest fit tightly in a 3-cup Ziplock plastic storage container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This salad is excellent ! The dressing is what makes it so good.......but you do not need to use all of the dressing. It's a bit too much. This recipe is also quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States