Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Another tip: if you want to cut the apple and pear ahead of time, just toss it w/ a little of the dressing to prevent browning. Keep it in a separate container and add at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
Made it for my office holiday party. It was a hit! Got lots of raves and a few people asked for the recipe. My modifications: (a) I doubled the recipe but instead of using 2 heads of romaine lettuce I used one head of romaine and 1 bag of spinach. (b)Omitted the Swiss cheese. (c) Instead of cashews I added toasted pecans (toasted myself). Nuts such as pecans and walnuts seem to match the fruit and season better. (d) I added some dried cherries along with the dried cranberries. (d)Despite having doubled the salad I only needed half as much dressing because the dressing was on the side. Having the dressing on the side worked great. I used less, the salad didn't get soggy and the leftovers kept better. The leftovers were actually minimal. I made a huge bowl. Since the original recipes makes 12 - 1 cup servings, I made roughly 24 cups. At the end of the evening the rest fit tightly in a 3-cup Ziplock plastic storage container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
FANTASTIC! The lemon poppyseed dressing is absolutely delicious. Be sure to use freshly squeezed lemons and not the stuff out of the yellow plastic containers - - it does make a difference. I used butter lettuce instead of romaine, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. The pears, apples, cheese, and cashews combined perfectly with the lemon dressing. One word of caution - - this fed three hungry adults (two helpings for the men). So don't be fooled by the "serves 12". Your family and guests will go back for seconds, trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
4 stars as is; 5 stars with changes. The dressing is wonderful. I don't think bland crunchy romaine is a good choice for white, peeled, crunchy fruit. I would go with spring greens, baby spinach, etc as a contrast to the fruit. I would also leave the fruit unpeeled to add color to the salad. I used pecans as that was what I had and thought they worked fine. A very, very good sald with another choice of greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I have been making this for Christmas the last couple of years and everyone loves it! I make the dressing the day before and wash the lettuce and leave it overnight in the spinner. I soak the apples in sprite so they won't brown. A nice compliment to a turkey and ham dinner. Very light and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
Made this for Christmas dinner and loads of times since. Its been a big hit. I use a red onion which turns the dressing pink - its very pretty and I usually server it on the side. Also I add all the ingredients into the processor together and I still get the same results (I didn't read the recipe right the first time !). After the first time, I omit the chesse as I don't think it adds anything to the overall result. As others have said there is way too much dressing for one salad but I always manage to use up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
This salad is outstanding!! I chose to omit the cashews and replaced them with slivered almonds instead. If I make this for lunch I include the swiss cheese but if I'm making it to serve to company with a meal I omit the cheese. This recipe is a keeper and people I've made it for absolutely went wild over it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Easily one of my favorite salads. My modifications: 1) I minced the onion very fine since I don't have a food processor. 2) I also used walnuts instead of cashews and it goes so well with cranberries. 3) I cube the apples in advance and dump them into a container with the dressing, This way when I'm preparing lunch for work in the morning I just scoop out the apples onto a bed of lettuce, toss in some nuts and berries, and I have a fantastic salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I never leave reviews but this salad is amazing. My husband has never been so excited about something I've made before. I will be making this recipe on a regular basis! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This was delicious, everyone loved it. Cut the dressing amounts in half. It made way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States