Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I made this for dinner and used Olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and used dried cherries soaked in water and drained, instead of cranberries.and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buddyblair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I have an almost identical recipe from another site & have been making this salad for many years. It is outstanding and always gets many recipe requests. I prefer to leave the skins on the fruit & always use Honeycrisp apples and red pears. I also think that using finely grated swiss cheese is really important as it is a strong tasting cheese & when shredded finely, balances nicely with the lemony dressing and fruits. Be sure to give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Reuther

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This is a nice salad with really good ingredients. We like fruit in our salads and having 3 kinds in the salad was very good. The dressing is light and adds a nice sweetness to the salad. I served this with 'White Chili VI' from AR and my version of the soup 'Spicy Chicken and Bean Soup'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Wonderful salad. Dressing reminded me of fresh squeezed lemonade with a twist. HELPFUL HINT: Use FRESH squeezed lemons, it's worth the extra work and pulls the ingredients together much better than the lemon concentrate! Didn't have romaine, so I used a spring green/spinach mixture. Was somewhat skeptical of the Swiss cheese, but it blended beautifully. Didn't have cashews, so I subbed roasted walnuts which added a depth of flavor and earthiness to the salad. I served this at a dinner party for eight, left the skin on the fruit and fanned the apple and pear on top of the individual plates and then sprinkled the walnuts and (added) blueberries over the top. Lovely presentation. Thank you Nora! Love your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Absolutely fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowlands, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Perfect salad to accompany our Christmas dinner! Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I made this for a recent dinner party and all the guests were crazy for it! (I think it actually upstaged the fancy main dish I served!) Definitely a keeper. I was making some other complicated dishes that night so was looking a for a way to save a step by using bottled dressing. By looking over the ingredients I came up with a good substitute: one 12 oz. bottle of Brianna's Home Style Rich Poppyseed Dressing combined with one 8 oz. bottle of Annie's Lite Goddess Dressing. (You will probably not need all of it, but in any case use that ratio 2/1, Poppyseed to Goddess.) Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Delicious salad and very easy to make. I made a few changes to the recipe for my own personal taste preferences but I'm sure it would be fine without if you prefer. I changed the greens to mostly spring mix with romaine hearts, substituted pecans for the cashews, and added oven roasted chicken pieces. It was absolutely delicious. Then for a little added "flavor kick" I sprinkled some "Garlic & Wine" seasoning salt from the Melting Pot Restaurants. Amazing. Definitely going into the recipe box to be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Did this salad for a Christmas pot luck...got great raves...great for a winter salad!!! Have made many times since often by request when I have to bring a dish to a family dinner. Used purple onion for added color. Also made with spinach instead of romaine lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States