Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
As written, I give 3 stars. It's too sweet for my taste. If interested, I made a couple changes on the 2nd go with this recipe. I omitted the sugar completely, and used the juice from the can of mandarin oranges.I also used the oranges. They are VERY tasty in salads with the sweet /savory appeal. I cut the Swiss cheese and used a nice,pungent Gorgonzola in it's stead.Cashews are so pricey,I only eat them alone so I can savor them. In their stead, I added some chopped pecans. YUM! Overall, a nice base recipe. Even better with minor tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Although I haven't made the salad, I've made the dressing. It is the best dressing I have ever made. I've bought bottled poppyseed dressing and nothing compares to this dressing. I don't have a food processor, so I used a wisk to mix the ingredients and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
We call this Festive Salad - it is WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe! I've taken to several potlucks and it is always a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Very good! Made this several times and it was a big hit. Added some mixed baby greens to the romane lettuce. Agree with some others if you cut the apples and pears before, except if you use asian pears, toss with some of the dressing so they will not turn. Definately will make again! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I've used this recipe for our holiday gathering for several years now. We provide the meal for about 60! It is easy to chop and prepare ahead of time and toss before serving. It is very festive. I sometimes cheat and buy the already cut-up romaine lettuce. It's a good idea to toss the apples and pears with a bit of the dressing. Pecans work great for the nuts also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years perfect for Thanksgiving because dressing and fruit can be prepared early in morning and doesn't take frig space; only difference in my recipe and this one I use two pears and two granny smith apples with skin on. Make dressing first. Then cut fruit and place in large salad bowl. I just pour all the dressing over fruit in morning and place Press & Seal over fruit to stop it from browning. Wash & Dry Romaine crisp in Frig. Measure out 1/2 cup whole cashews and 1/2 cup cranraisins seal in baggies. When ready to serve. I tear up lettuce into bite sized pieces toss with fruit/dressing mixture. Sprinkle cashews & cranraisins toss. Then top with finely shredded swiss cheese (much like Parmesan a Caesar Salad)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I have been making this same salad for years with my own poppy seed dressing (vinegar instead of lemon juice and dry mustard instead of Dijon) and love it! Sometimes I just make up the fruit minus the romaine for a yummy fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I am sorry this recipe needs to be reworked, I don't see how it can be considered a healthy choice at all with ½ cup of sugar in the dressing? 64 grams of sugar in a salad is ridiculous and unhealthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is a recipe I have made for quite awhile. Everyone always raves about it and I ALWAYS have to make it when our daughter comes to visit. I never had a name for it, so I just call it Yummy Salad. It really, really is! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States