Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I would agree with other reviews that it is too sweet, don't know if I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
What a fantastic salad! I've made it 3 times in the last 2 weeks and everyone has given it rave reviews! I made it EXACTLY the way the recipe was written and several of my guests asked for the recipe. My daughter said she's never had a craving for a salad until having this one! It makes a very large batch (I used 2 and even 3 heads of romaine one night) and plenty of dressing. It's a nice salad to make for company and compliments many main dishes very nicely. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I really liked the idea of this, but it needed some changes for me. The dressing was very sweet so I had to cut way back on the sugar (I made a tiny portion first to sample), and I used a raw cane sugar...about2 tbs or so. And I left the peel on the fruit. I used mixed power greens instead of romaine as I had no romaine on hand. I also used toasted pecans instead of cashews...again just what I had on hand. My lemon was a Meyer lemon, and I think that added a great flavor. I would definitely make again with my revisions. It's a good mix of flavors and textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is a taste salad but a little on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My family loves this salad! I first made it for a church thanksgiving potluck and my husband and son requested it for our own Thanksgiving meal. Also served it to company for a soup and salad meal and there were no leftovers! It makes a lot. One tip if you aren't serving right away: keep the diced fruit in a separate container and toss with a bit of lemon juice to keep from browning. Also I toasted and added pecans instead of cashews the first time because I had them on hand. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEENYBO
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Absolutely delicious. One of best salads we have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Lots of compliments! Quick and easy to make. I used my favorite poppy seed dressing (store bought) and tossed the pear and apple in lemon juice. It was perfect. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This dressing is also good without the poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I made this salad for a Christmas party and it was the hit of the evening. Everyone loved it, even the self-proclaimed "salad haters." I followed the recipe for the dressing exactly, but I found that I did not need to use it all. I used about 2/3 of it, and I think more would have been overkill. For the salad itself, I took the suggestions of other reviewers and did not peel either the apple or the pear. I tossed them in a bit of the dressing, and they did not discolor at all. For presentation, I used a large shallow bowl, layered the romaine, cranberries, cheese, and nuts, then arranged the diced apple and pear around the edges. It looked spectacular, and then I tossed it all together at the table. There was one tiny bit of lettuce left in the bowl at the end of the evening. I will definitely make this recipe again and again. It looks hard, but it is really pretty easy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Love it and have made it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Potter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States