Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My family loves this salad! I first made it for a church thanksgiving potluck and my husband and son requested it for our own Thanksgiving meal. Also served it to company for a soup and salad meal and there were no leftovers! It makes a lot. One tip if you aren't serving right away: keep the diced fruit in a separate container and toss with a bit of lemon juice to keep from browning. Also I toasted and added pecans instead of cashews the first time because I had them on hand. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Absolutely delicious. One of best salads we have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Lots of compliments! Quick and easy to make. I used my favorite poppy seed dressing (store bought) and tossed the pear and apple in lemon juice. It was perfect. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This dressing is also good without the poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I made this salad for a Christmas party and it was the hit of the evening. Everyone loved it, even the self-proclaimed "salad haters." I followed the recipe for the dressing exactly, but I found that I did not need to use it all. I used about 2/3 of it, and I think more would have been overkill. For the salad itself, I took the suggestions of other reviewers and did not peel either the apple or the pear. I tossed them in a bit of the dressing, and they did not discolor at all. For presentation, I used a large shallow bowl, layered the romaine, cranberries, cheese, and nuts, then arranged the diced apple and pear around the edges. It looked spectacular, and then I tossed it all together at the table. There was one tiny bit of lettuce left in the bowl at the end of the evening. I will definitely make this recipe again and again. It looks hard, but it is really pretty easy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Love it and have made it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Potter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
fantastic salad. the dressing is very refreshing. I did cut back on the oil (to 1/3 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Delicious! Made it for guests and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have made this salad numerous times over the years and it's great! As with some of the other reviewers, I back off on the sugar a bit and it's still great. I too prefer to leave the skin on the fruit for color. I also make this in summer and substitute red grapes for dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Delicious vinaigrette and salad. I had almonds and fontina on hand instead of swiss and cashews. I skipped the poppy seeds and added half a tablespoon of celery seed. Next time, I want to reduce the amount of sugar by half to see if it makes a big difference. With the leftover dressing I plan to marinate some chicken thighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckleswithfreckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States