Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
We prefer pecans in keeping with the winter theme. Otherwise, this recipe is perfect as it is. A big hit for the Thanksgiving and Christmas tables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Mercer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I would agree with other reviews that it is too sweet, don't know if I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
What a fantastic salad! I've made it 3 times in the last 2 weeks and everyone has given it rave reviews! I made it EXACTLY the way the recipe was written and several of my guests asked for the recipe. My daughter said she's never had a craving for a salad until having this one! It makes a very large batch (I used 2 and even 3 heads of romaine one night) and plenty of dressing. It's a nice salad to make for company and compliments many main dishes very nicely. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I really liked the idea of this, but it needed some changes for me. The dressing was very sweet so I had to cut way back on the sugar (I made a tiny portion first to sample), and I used a raw cane sugar...about2 tbs or so. And I left the peel on the fruit. I used mixed power greens instead of romaine as I had no romaine on hand. I also used toasted pecans instead of cashews...again just what I had on hand. My lemon was a Meyer lemon, and I think that added a great flavor. I would definitely make again with my revisions. It's a good mix of flavors and textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is a taste salad but a little on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My family loves this salad! I first made it for a church thanksgiving potluck and my husband and son requested it for our own Thanksgiving meal. Also served it to company for a soup and salad meal and there were no leftovers! It makes a lot. One tip if you aren't serving right away: keep the diced fruit in a separate container and toss with a bit of lemon juice to keep from browning. Also I toasted and added pecans instead of cashews the first time because I had them on hand. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Absolutely delicious. One of best salads we have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Lots of compliments! Quick and easy to make. I used my favorite poppy seed dressing (store bought) and tossed the pear and apple in lemon juice. It was perfect. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This dressing is also good without the poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I made this salad for a Christmas party and it was the hit of the evening. Everyone loved it, even the self-proclaimed "salad haters." I followed the recipe for the dressing exactly, but I found that I did not need to use it all. I used about 2/3 of it, and I think more would have been overkill. For the salad itself, I took the suggestions of other reviewers and did not peel either the apple or the pear. I tossed them in a bit of the dressing, and they did not discolor at all. For presentation, I used a large shallow bowl, layered the romaine, cranberries, cheese, and nuts, then arranged the diced apple and pear around the edges. It looked spectacular, and then I tossed it all together at the table. There was one tiny bit of lettuce left in the bowl at the end of the evening. I will definitely make this recipe again and again. It looks hard, but it is really pretty easy. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States