Winter Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Next time I make this recipe I will use more BBQ sauce (use Head Country if you can, it's the best!) and I will choose a smaller sweet potato than the one I did. I ended up needing to cook this for about 55-65 minutes but that was because my chicken was not as thawed as I thought. Also..... I left the apple peels and potato peels on in order for the fiber, and I enjoyed this dish just the same, I forgot I had done that in fact... So leave the peels on :D Overall, VERY tasty, very unique recipe, that is what I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I've prepared this recipe a number of times, and I've made some changes that we think improved it. First, I omit the sweet potato (we don't like them). I add one chopped apple for each person (instead of one apple/two persons). I use baby carrots and cook them on the stove until they're about halfway cooked through, then drain them and toss them with the chopped apples. I omit the onion because it upsets our stomachs, but I season the apples and carrots with onion powder and pepper. A few times, I've added small red potatoes that I've quartered (depending on size) and tossed with the seasoned apples and carrots, but the last time I made this I baked potatoes (not sweet potatoes) to serve alongside. One thing I do now that I think is crucial to making this dish moist is to add some apple juice approximately halfway through baking. I pour it into the apple/carrot/potato (if using) mix in the bottom of the pan and stir it around. I check it again about 10 minutes later and add more juice, if needed. This keeps everything from drying out. I also use dried cranberries instead of fresh, and the apple juice helps a lot with 'plumping' them. All in all, both my husband and I really enjoy this dish in the winter. It's easy to prepare and compared to many other recipes, fairly healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Perfect for winter nights. My only problem was the sweet potato dried out a bit. I used dried cranberries--careful to place them on top of the chicken/veggies, if they are on the bottom they burn too easily. Quite a different type of dish for me, I liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I LOVED this recipe. The flavors were amazing and the chicken turned out perfect. I didn't have carrots on hand so I used red and yellow peppers. I also served with rice and it was absolutely delicious! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I chose this recipe because I was looking for something tasty that my family would enjoy that had a "red" theme for Valentine's Day. My wife & I have 4 daughters that have grown up and their taste pallets have matured but they are not big red meat fans. Chicken fit the bill. I used whole chicken breasts instead of halves. After reading several other reviews, I noticed many concerns about the cranberries and general dryness of the dish so I used the canned whole cranberries which would increase the moisture content. also Besides just brushing the breasts with bbq sauce, I used honey BBQ sauce and increased the amount to 1 1/4 cups & poured the remaining sauce over the dish. the result was fabulous. It not only increased the moisture content of the chicken, but it melded nicely with the onions , apples, carrots and sweet potatoes and made a delicious semi-thick sauce that could be spooned over the chicken at serving. Although I love onions, I will decrease the amount to one onion for a yield of six servings next time. Carrots were a bit much as well. I used 8 rather than the 9 that the recipe called for. I will decrease these to six. The sweet potatoes presented enough orange color and flavor for this dish. I needed 2 baking dishes to handle the large chicken breasts. (we love left overs) I served this with long grain and wild rice, a perfect compliment. All in all, this was a very tasty, well received meal and a keeper. I will make this again when we have guests over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Very tasty! I didn't realize that it was scaled for two, so I only used one sweet potato and one apple for my family of 6...still, it was delish! Next time I will definitely add what I left out:-) I sprinled some garlic powder, cinnamon and chili powder on top, used dried cranberries, and served over brown rice. I was very happy with this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made this recipe for 2 adults who like chicken, sweet potatoes and cranberries. I really liked the whole dish, the other person did not appreciate the cranberries with her vegetables. I used a lg. sweet potato that I peeled, but did not precook and my chicken breasts were added right from the freezer to the recipe. I put the chicken on top of all the vegetables. and covered the casserole dish. Everything was ready in 60-75 minutes and the chicken was not dry because it was cooked covered. I will certainly make this again. Because my sweet potato was quite large and both carrots and sweet potatoes are orange starches, the carrots were omitted this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Great, flavorful recipe. It's a little like Thanksgiving dinner without all the work! I used Famous Dave's Devils Spit Barbeque sauce which gave the recipe a little extra kick and it also provided a nice contrast to the sweetness of the sweet potatoes, cranberries and apples. I also used whole canned cranberries (couldn't find fresh) which worked out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I can't think of enough adjectives to describe how yummy this is. It is colorful, flavorful and comforting. I made it exactly as the recipe says and it came out perfect. I'll be making it many more times and I've emailed it to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I added a cup of chicken broth to the bottom and extra honey to the top of the veggies. Smothered the tops of the chicken with bbq sauce. Turned out decent. Might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musik16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States