Winter Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I was excited to make this recipe after reading some rave reviews of it. It looks very festive and sounded delicious. I made it last night, and was very disappointed. I used fresh cranberries (maybe this is where I went wrong) and it made the whole thing extremely tart. The apples lost all of their flavor and everything just tasted like carrots. I would recommend trying this one out for yourself before making it for others--my husband did not appreciate being the guinea pig for this one! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
The flavors in this dish are mild and subtle. Nothing that really reaches out and smacks your taste buds around (except for the cranberries.) I felt like it was missing something......maybe some seasonings since there aren't really any. It definitely needed salt. I might end up playing around with it a little, make it more suited to my family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Ilove this easy recipe. I used dried cherries instead of cranberry (what I had on hand). I have lots of friends having babies, and this is the dish I'm taking them. Liked that it calls for so few ingredients, but has so much flavor. I did use a little more BBQ sauce than what it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
very flavorful(sweet)and easy. I have very little cooking experience but the chicken came out perfect. I left out the cranberries. I also followed another reviewers suggestion and used more barbacue sauce on the chicken. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This is a great recipie. I decided to make it in a clay pot to see what would happen and it was wonderful. It was delicious tasted more like a desert then a main. It takes much longer in a clay pot but worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ipss
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was very unique tasting, we enjoyed it. I would love to have given this a 3.5 rating, because it was good and tasty but not the best thing I've ever had. I made the recipe as described but I doubled the recipe. Definitely worth making, but probably will be for special occasions of when I have that Winter Chicken Bake craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ipss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
this is a nice concept, but the bottom layer was less flavorful and more dry than we liked. If I tried this again I would just place the fruits and onion in the dish and bake a whole sweet potato on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOPHOP1125

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsCdnFrog
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I was prepared for sweetness but not that sweet! I wanted to use whole frozen cranberries but the store was out so I ended up with whole canned ones... perhaps this is why it was too sweet? For sure I will be making it again though and here's why: I blended the left overs with the juices into babyfood for my son... he LOVED it!!! Couldn't get enough... and he's a tough boy to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCdnFrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
The cranberries were a little tart for me, although my husband liked it. He also added some barbecue sauce to his chicken. Next time, I will add BBQ sauce and nix the cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I loved this recipe! The sweet potatoes were great, and the cranberries added a nice tangy taste. I'll definitely make it again. I also added a dash of Montreal Steak Spice to the chicken, just because I like it on chicken. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States