Winter Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was very tasty. Based on other reviews, I took these extra steps: I steamed the carrots for 10 minutes before baking, and I sauteed the (sliced in strips) onion in olive oil. I baked for 25 minutes, added 1c chicken broth, covered with foil, and baked for another 25 minutes. Everything was tender and juicy. I really liked how the green apple flavor mixed with the onions and sweet potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerseyfresh77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I've prepared this recipe a number of times, and I've made some changes that we think improved it. First, I omit the sweet potato (we don't like them). I add one chopped apple for each person (instead of one apple/two persons). I use baby carrots and cook them on the stove until they're about halfway cooked through, then drain them and toss them with the chopped apples. I omit the onion because it upsets our stomachs, but I season the apples and carrots with onion powder and pepper. A few times, I've added small red potatoes that I've quartered (depending on size) and tossed with the seasoned apples and carrots, but the last time I made this I baked potatoes (not sweet potatoes) to serve alongside. One thing I do now that I think is crucial to making this dish moist is to add some apple juice approximately halfway through baking. I pour it into the apple/carrot/potato (if using) mix in the bottom of the pan and stir it around. I check it again about 10 minutes later and add more juice, if needed. This keeps everything from drying out. I also use dried cranberries instead of fresh, and the apple juice helps a lot with 'plumping' them. All in all, both my husband and I really enjoy this dish in the winter. It's easy to prepare and compared to many other recipes, fairly healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was very good. I had everything on hand. But the cranberries, OMG! Sour! So we just didn't eat them and will eliminate them next time. It only has 5 Weight Watcher points. Yaayyy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I was looking for something quick, comforting, and healthy, and this was perfect! I was a little skeptical because I'm not a big fan of sweet potatos or apples used for dinner dishes but the whole meal was fantastic! I couldn't find cranberries, so I used dried cranberries, and they turned hard and crunchy; I wouldn't recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Was looking for sweet potato recipe that wasn't overly sweet & this deliciously fit the bill!To really improve this recipe, make it quicker & add moisture, you might try what I did: Omit carrots. Substitute some chucks of a whole store-brought baked seasoned chicken w/ some of the broth. For cranberries, substitute enough whole berry cranberry sauce to taste. Prepare as directed by recipe EXCEPT heat in microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I thought that this recipe was good. I didn't have any cranberries to add but I did add some celery. I also added some water based on another reviewers comment about it being to dry. I may of added too much water but I thought that it was still good. I think the best part of this meal is that it is easy and helthy. I had a thought of possibly adding a little bit of water or maybe chicken broth or OJ. I also served with brown rice. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Hubby and I loved this recipe. It had all of my favorite things: sweet potatoes, chicken breasts, cranberries.. and the apple/onion/carrot mixture was really yummy. Here is a hint - slice the sweet potato lengthwise and put it flesh side down when microwaving. I followed the recipe as written and used Craisons(cranberry raisons). I saved all the leftover veggys and had them for lunch today - what a treat! I think this would be great with pork tenderloin also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
The best part of the dish is the chicken - it's very tender and tasty. Other than that, it just wasn't what I thought it would be. My husband said the it was "too chaotic" - the flavors just didn't blend well at all. I make another chicken bake with sweet potato and onion in a honey-soy-ginger sauce that's incredible... this recipe just doesn't compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Hmm... this is an odd one. It did not taste bad, it just did not have much taste at all. It only cooks for a short time and with no juice the tastes do not combine. Over all a solid "Meh". I would suggest cooking your chicken plainly (baked, grilled whatever) and then serve with a side of baked sweet potato. The only good thing is that it inspired me. I think I am going to try and create some sort of apple and sweet potato bake side dish (with NO onions). Also, the carrots did not cook at all. Still hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Fantastic. I used a generous amount of BBQ sauce and added dried cranberries instead of fresh. The combination of the onions and apples tasted wonderful. Also added salt and pepper to the top. Overall, the type of meal that has me thinking about it well after the dishes are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States