Winter Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
It's not a bad recipe, but it's also not outstanding. It's the sort of thing that I'd make if I already had the ingredients on hand and didn't quite know what else to make for dinner. The chicken was a little dry. It's pretty easy to prepare, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I finally got a chance to make this recipe. It turned out great. I only gave it a 4 star because a whole cup of cranberries is way to much. Next time I make this I will cut the amount in Half. Overall the recipe is easy to make and very tasty. Did not deviate from the original. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by winner42
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
On a cold Ohio winter day - this was a perfect meal! My husband and I really enjoyed it and I'm looking forward to the leftovers for tomorrow! (*for all of you non-cookers out there - this is a simple recipe to follow and if I can make it - so can you!*) I WILL be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was delicious. I used chicken tenders and only baked 40 minutes. Dried cranberries as well. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watercate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Excellent. It's like chicken with chutney. I should have thought of it this way before I diced the chicken; the chicken should stay whole fillets. I will peel the sweet potatoes before microwaving them next time - they were too difficult to peel hot. I sauteed the onions and carrots before adding them to the dish and that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Sorry but my family did not like this meal at all. Followed the recipe with no changes. Will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was just ok. The chicken was bland. The potatoes were mush. I liked it alright but my husband and kids did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Great idea, but didn't work- these veggies (and fruits) cook very differently. some were mush, some burned, and some were not close to done. If I knew how to fix this I'd try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer1512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This wasn't at all what I was hoping for. The potatoes got all mushy, and the cranberries dry. The chicken didn't get any flavor from any of the other ingredients. Overall, I wasn't impressed, and the hubby asked for something else for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bainbridge, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I chose this recipe because I was looking for something tasty that my family would enjoy that had a "red" theme for Valentine's Day. My wife & I have 4 daughters that have grown up and their taste pallets have matured but they are not big red meat fans. Chicken fit the bill. I used whole chicken breasts instead of halves. After reading several other reviews, I noticed many concerns about the cranberries and general dryness of the dish so I used the canned whole cranberries which would increase the moisture content. also Besides just brushing the breasts with bbq sauce, I used honey BBQ sauce and increased the amount to 1 1/4 cups & poured the remaining sauce over the dish. the result was fabulous. It not only increased the moisture content of the chicken, but it melded nicely with the onions , apples, carrots and sweet potatoes and made a delicious semi-thick sauce that could be spooned over the chicken at serving. Although I love onions, I will decrease the amount to one onion for a yield of six servings next time. Carrots were a bit much as well. I used 8 rather than the 9 that the recipe called for. I will decrease these to six. The sweet potatoes presented enough orange color and flavor for this dish. I needed 2 baking dishes to handle the large chicken breasts. (we love left overs) I served this with long grain and wild rice, a perfect compliment. All in all, this was a very tasty, well received meal and a keeper. I will make this again when we have guests over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States