Winnipeg Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I had high hopes for this recipe. To me, it was far too sweet... not much Rye flavour, texture-wise, it was too soft from the high proportion of milk. I was hoping for something close to City rye, but would have been happy enough with a KUB knock-off. It didn't resemble either one. Anyway, the liquid measure also seems off in this recipe - I had to add an additional 1/4 cup of water to create the right consistency in my machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
It turned out perfect, and it is just like the bread I had in Winnipeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Has anyone made this without a bread machine? Is there any order I should mix the ingredients?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I used bulger wheat instead of cracked rye, same method, and half wheat flour and half white flour and it was fantastic! I also tried it with 1 1/2 T milled flax seed and 1 1/2 T Butter instead of 3 T butter and added a 1/4 c whole flax seeds and that was great too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I couldn't wait to buy a breadmaker once I saw this recipe, but I'm disappointed in the results. My loaves are consistently about half of Clemep's photos, and extremely dense. Flavour is perfect! I've since tried using a yeast designed for breadmakers, and got loaves about half again as big as the first batch. Can't beat the taste, though. I let the loaves rise for 40 minutes in a warm place, but it didn't help much. Not a baker, but need Wpg rye, Kate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Sounds good!!! I have been searching for cracked rye and gluten to try this recipe. I've lived in Oregon for 30 plus years but still miss winnipeg or city bread rye bread. Also hot dogs from the greeks, next door to the marion hotel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
We have corrected the amount of water listed in this recipe. The amount of water was previously listed as 1 cup, but now correctly reads 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clemep
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
We fell in love with Winnipeg rye bread while attending the folk festival. This recipe captures the flavor and texture we were after. Consistently good results. A great all purpose bread. We have increased the amount of cracked rye, and note that we gnerally need to add more flour as the bread is kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This is an excellent recipe with good results every time I have made it. If you prefer your bread in traditional loaf pans, it will make 3 loaves. I increased the cracked rye to 1/2 cup the last time I made it and reduced the milk by 1/4 of a cup just to give a more full bodied flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rainy River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Excellent! Even without the Gluten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States