Wine Soaked Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I really liked this recipe, although I did alter it by adding shallots, using cremini Mushrooms and reducing the amount of wine a bit. The thyme added a very nice flavor. I actually prepared this for a vegetarian meal and everyone really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Fair recipe, just needs more flavour other than red wine, thinking Marsala wine or other sweet cooking wine would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was a terrific recipe as is. I added 1/2 cup heavy cream at the end and served over chicken. It was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Don't let the cook time scare you, I made this as a last minute thing, my husband didn't want chicken and he usually over cooks the steaks HAHA so I knew we needed a topping! Because I didn't have the time to reduce the liquid I only added 14.5 oz of my favorite Red wine- so equal parts beef broth and red wine- I brought the mixture to a rolling boil for 15 minutes and then a slow simmered for another 15 minutes. Total cook time after the liquid was added was only 30 minutes...perfection! I WILL ABSOLUTELY be making this again! Next time, when there's more time, I will do the full bottle of wine and full 1 1/2 hours cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
While reading through all of the comments, I thought it would be too strong with all that wine. I left all of the directions and ingridients the same, except, I used red cooking wine and only used 14 oz to be equal to the beef broth. I reduced it for just under an hour and it was the best topper for my steak, I even ate some for a side, the remaining juices are AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
We thought that they great. Wife didn't care for the presentation though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Substited chopped garlic from jar, dried onions, and added some tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I thought these were just okay...I made as directed- although I cooked just under the full two hours, and with a bit less wine. I don't like when other reviewers change a recipe and then negatively comment on its outcome, so I must say that the 3-star rating is not based on the amount of wine or the cooking time. It has to do with the onions- maybe I'm just a "mushroom purist," but I didn't care for the addition. I would make these again, but without the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
i used button mushrooms that were halved so that it would resemble the burgundy mushrooms my hubby and i are so fond of. It was excellent! thought it would be too strong for the kids, but my 9yr old went back for seconds. thumbs up from everyone- thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Roasted Wild Mushrooms & Potatoes

See how to make autumn's perfect side dish.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States