Wine Sauce for Seafood Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I've just made this and it is absolutely disgusting. It starts with a massive kick of lemon and leaves you with a greasy mouth. I'm so glad I tasted it before ruining my fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne O'Donnell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Great, quick flavourful recipe. I am not fussy on tarragon, as I found out after the first making of this, so I made it again and substituted with Basil and Rosemary. Much more to my liking but maybe not to others. Regardless, the recipe as written is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was a good base. I tweeked it to be a more 5 star version by reducing the amount of lemon juice, opting for fresh thyme instead of tarragon, adding a small amount of heavy cream and adding some grated Parmesan cheese. It was wonderful after my adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Great sauce base. We used it on Alaskan Cod and it went really well with a few adjustments: No tarragon or lemon as I didn't have any. Forgot the salt but added a bit of agave to thicken and sweeten the sauce. Also, taking a cue from a pan-fried steak and red wine reduction combo, I kept the 'bits' left on the pan after cooking the fish and threw in the butter, shallots, and garlic for more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I served this over a baked white fish and it was delicious! Next time I will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
My hubby doesn't like a lot of sauce and I like a lot of sauce. This recipe was a good compromise. I served it over frozen asparagus/cheese ravioli from Costco and steamed brocollini. I gave it 5 stars because it added a zing to a basic meal with minimal effort. I had to substitute fresh ingredients with dried (parsley, onions) and it still came out pretty well. I also let it simmer a little longer to thicken up the sauce. I imagine it can only get better with the right ingredients so look forward to the next attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Delicious... substituted fresh thyme for the tarragon and served over oven baked Alaskan Cod on a bed of fresh mixed greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I put this on Lobster ravioli and it wasn't good on that, but I can see where it might be much better on fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
We really enjoyed this sauce. I made it exactly as to the specifications with the exception of using only a scant teaspoon of the tarragon. After I finished it and tasted it, I decided to add one tablespoon of heavy cream to cut down the acidity for my husband. He loved every bite he took. I used chicken tenders cooked in olive oil with a touch of butter for this meal, and we have enough left over for a sandwich today. I'll take part of the sauce and mix it with the mayo for the sandwich. We can hardly wait! I can see why this would be perfect for a porous white fish because the flavors would seep into it so perfectly. Next time! I'm glad I pulled this recipe from my oldest entry page of my recipe box (a challenge from mis7up, a Recipe Buzzer). UPDATE: We did have a delicious sandwich using the leftovers today. This fits our definition of delicious. I understand that others may not like the taste of tarragon, but YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I completely agree with Natalie E -the tarragon in this sauce totally overpowered and ruined it. None of the three people in my house that ate it liked it. (In fact, everyone disliked it a lot) I even went back to make sure I prepared it properly and didn't leave out any ingredients I was so disappointed in the way it came out and I had not made any mistakes. I served this over a white fish as suggested. I will definitely not use this recipe again and do not recommend it. Perhaps if someone really loves tarragon and just wants a sauce that taste like that, they would like it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States