Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Does anyone know if the wine can be sustituted for a craft beer? I haven't even tried the wine yet, although I'm going to very soon, but I've high hopes for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annieorose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Awesome!! This was fantastic. Like a lot of people, I used 1.75 oz pectin to 1 bottle of wine, and they set up just fine (except one batch, but I suspect it might be because it was boiling over so I took it off the heat early). We made 2 batches of pinot grigio, 1 batch of malbec, and 1 batch of white zinfandel. Each batch made 6 half pint jars + 1 or 2 4 oz. jars. The half pints are going to all our friends for Christmas presents, but we're keeping the 4 oz jars for ourselves! They taste amazing. So great on bread with a bit of cheese. I can't wait to share them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I reduced the wine to 3 cups, reduced the lemon juice to just under 1/2 cup and increased the sugar to 4 1/3. I have to say, it set beautifully and tasted great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pampered Chef Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
No thx, was terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I used 1.75 oz dry pectin. Like another reviewer, there are some things I noticed that are perfectly normal: 1) The jelly will be near-liquid once the water bath is done. 2) Re-tighten your rings once the jars have cooled down enough to touch them and 3) It will start to appear to jell as you're spooning it into the jars. All these are normal. Mine jelled up to perfect spreading consistency after about 4 hours. All lids popped in to ensure they were sealed. If one doesn't pop, put that one in the fridge to use first. I used a cabernet sauvingnon that I found on clearance for $4.99. The taste of the jelly is very, very sweet with an a fruity, wine undertone. This was perfect with some freshly baked scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe but it did not jell for me. I ended up using it with Soy sauce and garlic as a sauce to slow cook my chicken legs in. Just fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I just made this recipe two days ago using a cheap bottle of Sangria...WOW! We love it. Gave some to my neighbors and they just about finished the jar before I left their home. Looking forward to making again. A tasty fun recipe...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Wonderful recipe! We own a Vineyard and I have used several of our wines to make this jelly. It is a little thin, so I used extra pectin to thicken. We serve the wine jelly over blocks of cream cheese at our Tasting Bar. Visitors LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
this is awesome. I used Merlot and substituted liquid realemon for the fresh lemons. I had no problem getting it to set. I'm a white wine drinker and now I know what to do with all those left over bottles of red wine when my company leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
The only change I made was to substitute liquid pectin, and add it after the sugar is completely dissolved. I made sure the boiling water bath was rolling, before I put them in. The first batch I used Blackberry Merlot! Yummy! The second one I used a Riesling I had, and added a sprig of Rosemary. Once it cools and starts to set I will invert the jars so the rosemary ends up on the bottom. The red wines def. look nicer in the bottles. By the way, put the leftover in a glas jar in your fridge, it will set quickly and you can serve it yourself that same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States