Wine Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
No thx, was terrible! Doesn't deserve any stars if there was that option! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. I used 1.75 oz dry pectin. Like another reviewer, there are some things I noticed that are perfectly normal: 1) The jelly will be near-liquid once the water bath is done. 2) Re-tighten your rings once the jars have cooled down enough to touch them and 3) It will start to appear to jell as you're spooning it into the jars. All these are normal. Mine jelled up to perfect spreading consistency after about 4 hours. All lids popped in to ensure they were sealed. If one doesn't pop, put that one in the fridge to use first. I used a cabernet sauvingnon that I found on clearance for $4.99. The taste of the jelly is very, very sweet with an a fruity, wine undertone. This was perfect with some freshly baked scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe but it did not jell for me. I ended up using it with Soy sauce and garlic as a sauce to slow cook my chicken legs in. Just fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I just made this recipe two days ago using a cheap bottle of Sangria...WOW! We love it. Gave some to my neighbors and they just about finished the jar before I left their home. Looking forward to making again. A tasty fun recipe...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Wonderful recipe! We own a Vineyard and I have used several of our wines to make this jelly. It is a little thin, so I used extra pectin to thicken. We serve the wine jelly over blocks of cream cheese at our Tasting Bar. Visitors LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
this is awesome. I used Merlot and substituted liquid realemon for the fresh lemons. I had no problem getting it to set. I'm a white wine drinker and now I know what to do with all those left over bottles of red wine when my company leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
The only change I made was to substitute liquid pectin, and add it after the sugar is completely dissolved. I made sure the boiling water bath was rolling, before I put them in. The first batch I used Blackberry Merlot! Yummy! The second one I used a Riesling I had, and added a sprig of Rosemary. Once it cools and starts to set I will invert the jars so the rosemary ends up on the bottom. The red wines def. look nicer in the bottles. By the way, put the leftover in a glas jar in your fridge, it will set quickly and you can serve it yourself that same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
The two reviews below (JW and the one after) are right. The "syrup" should be off the heat when the pectin is added. I haven't seen a wine jelly recipe before that uses dry pectin, only liquid. They aren't interchangeable, so I'll add a few that use liquid. You can't heat anything above 212F without a pressure cooker! It's not possible, at least at sea level. This jelly is more than acidic enough to be canned by the water bath method. I've never even seen a jelly recipe that requires pressure canning. I think the person giving that tip must be a little confused about it. You'd have to pressure can low-acid foods, but not those with a pH below 4.6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hope.h

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Wow! I had wine that I thought was only good for....well...good for nothing! The only thing I did different was after a minute of hard boil, I took the pot off the heat and I added one package of liquid pectin (Certo). I had perfectly set, really good wine jelly which will be ging to various freinds this Christmas with crackers and brie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Although I have not made this yet but plan to I have read many reviews stating there was a problem with setting. Pectin will not set if it over heats, it breaks down. Might try adding the pectin after you remove the mixture from heat and allow to cool for about two minutes. I am going to attempt and will let you know if it helped. :) thanks so much for the recipe can't wait to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Wine Jelly

See how to turn your favorite wine into delicous jelly.

How to Cook with Wine

Build rich flavors in sauces and reductions by simply adding a splash of wine!

How to Make Jalapeno Jelly

See how to make a colorful Christmas relish that’s sweet and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States