Wine Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Absolutely fabulous; loved this recipe, was so sure I would be missing the familiar much lovde tastes of traditional cheese or oil fondue, wich I do so love. But no, this much healthier version dose not disappoint. All the fun and flavor of traditional fondue without all the guilt.I doubled the spices as well as the wine as others had suggested and was not disappointed but I neglected to strain the wine spice mixture before cooking, not a problem until near the end when the wine had cooked down quite a lot and you did come into up close contact with the spices (in your mouth) not good. In the future I maylet the spices simmer with the wine for some time but would try to strain them out befor too long. I made this for a friend after a long day at work; she came over for a glass of wine and was so suprised and delighted. It was so easy I was almost embarrassed, we had shrimp,scallops,chicken,green pepper, onion and mushrooms to cook.Evreything was good but the shrimp jumped out as the star, plumped up by the wine it would literally burst in your mouth with an unexpected explosion of flavor.I only purched a handful of each at the local supermarket on the way home. The scallops were also tasty not at all rubbery, but next time I will buy the larger size.Next in prefence were probaly the mushrooms also magnifing and compounding the flavors.The chicken was good but did not compare to the seafood. I would recommend this recipe to evreyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Nice fondue recipe! I used a Chardonnay that I found for $3.50 (haha) that was great for cooking! I was worried it was going to be a little strong so I added a cup of chicken broth (not the low sodium kind) and omitted the salts. I also added some crushed garlic, a spring of thyme, and some chopped parsley. Versatile recipe. The alcohol is definately strong at first. Let it boil a bit if if you'd rather it cook out a bit. I used this with chicken strips, shrimp (they cook fast!), sea scallops, and mushroom. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
this was good. It surprised me it's not something I would normally cook but chicken cooked this way was delish and save the leftover fondu and freeze in ice cube trays to flavor stews or soups. thanks marc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
We liked this very much. We have been dieting and really wanted to do a fondue for dinner--most are so fattening though. This was light and pretty much guilt free! I served whole grain bread on the side and dipped that in as well instead of using butter--that was REALlY GOOD! Make sure you season your meat! Will be making this one again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This worked out very well for my family. Much better than the old oil fondues. I set the wine on fire to burn off the alcohol, I have a 9 year old and a 13 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hemstreet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I served on Valentine's day with shrimp, chicken and brussel sprouts. We drank the same wine with dinner and all flavors were awesome. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Villa Rica, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
I thought it smelled wonderful, I only gave it 3 stars because I thought it was a lot more work and $$ than using broth. And I don't think that the seasonings added a lot to the fondue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This fondue recipe is a keeper! We used it to cook chicken and shrimp and it was preferred over the vegetable oil that we normally used. A bonus is that it smells wonderful while simmering in the fondue pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Absolutely wonderful! We had a group of 18 and everyone raved over the chicken in the wine fondue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I have made this twice for fondue parties and it is a hit! I find it is best with mushrooms; my non-veggie friends like chicken. It takes a little longer to cook things than oil fondue, but your extra patience is worth the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States