Wine Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This worked well with chicken and broccoli. It was also great for dipping fresh baked bread. It worked OK with mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I thought this was great for the seafood but didn't work as well for the veggies. The veggies soaked up a LOT of the wine flavor and it was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This fondue is wonderful! I doubled the recipe so that my larger fondue pot would have enough in it and it worked great. We dipped beef tenderloin, shrimp, scallops, green peppers, brocolli, red onion, cauliflower, and mushrooms. I would make this in a heartbeat. I have never strained something in cheesecloth before but that is super easy. I also used a very inexpensive ($3) bottle of Pinot Grigio-Chardonney wine. Delicious. I made it for 10 people (we also had a broth fondue) and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This was good but I don't no if it made that big of an impact for all the work and cost
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I had a wine fondue party and used this broth with chicken, scallops, filet and schrimp. I will definately do this one again. I also used some sauces for dipping, but you could skip them if you like subtle flavors. I also used a chardonnay wine (2 buck chuck) which worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Nice fondue recipe! I used a Chardonnay that I found for $3.50 (haha) that was great for cooking! I was worried it was going to be a little strong so I added a cup of chicken broth (not the low sodium kind) and omitted the salts. I also added some crushed garlic, a spring of thyme, and some chopped parsley. Versatile recipe. The alcohol is definately strong at first. Let it boil a bit if if you'd rather it cook out a bit. I used this with chicken strips, shrimp (they cook fast!), sea scallops, and mushroom. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Awsome, would make this again in a heartbeat! we did shimp and scallops and a variety of fresh veggies (mushrooms, peppers, snap peas scallions). It got even better as the wine cooked down, more intense flavor. I did need to double it to get the volume for the fondue pot. Be sure to use wine you would want to drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I doubled the recipe and made it for a group of 6. Everyone enjoyed it!! It was very tasty and much healthier than an oil fondue. We had it with chicken, scallops and shrimp. All 3 tasted great cooked in the wine!!! Thanks for a great new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Absolutely fabulous; loved this recipe, was so sure I would be missing the familiar much lovde tastes of traditional cheese or oil fondue, wich I do so love. But no, this much healthier version dose not disappoint. All the fun and flavor of traditional fondue without all the guilt.I doubled the spices as well as the wine as others had suggested and was not disappointed but I neglected to strain the wine spice mixture before cooking, not a problem until near the end when the wine had cooked down quite a lot and you did come into up close contact with the spices (in your mouth) not good. In the future I maylet the spices simmer with the wine for some time but would try to strain them out befor too long. I made this for a friend after a long day at work; she came over for a glass of wine and was so suprised and delighted. It was so easy I was almost embarrassed, we had shrimp,scallops,chicken,green pepper, onion and mushrooms to cook.Evreything was good but the shrimp jumped out as the star, plumped up by the wine it would literally burst in your mouth with an unexpected explosion of flavor.I only purched a handful of each at the local supermarket on the way home. The scallops were also tasty not at all rubbery, but next time I will buy the larger size.Next in prefence were probaly the mushrooms also magnifing and compounding the flavors.The chicken was good but did not compare to the seafood. I would recommend this recipe to evreyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
On taste, this was five stars! On quantity, it wasn't enough. Maybe we just have a big fondue pot, but we poured it in, and it wouldn't even cover a piece of food! So we just added another half bottle of wine, and it was fine. I'll definately be doubling this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States