Wine Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! The only problem, which turned out to be quite a big problem, was that it wasn't enough. I had fondue for four people, including shrimp, scallops, broccoli, green peppers, mushrooms, and onions. It wasn't really that much food, but I ended up adding another half bottle of white wine directly into the pot because there wasn't enough broth to cook with. Even that disappeared quickly and we ended up crafting a red wine broth right in the pot for the rest of the food. I would definitely make two bottles worth of the broth and have some extra waiting just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldoug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Made for a baby shower. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very delicious, very simple - even the kids enjoyed it! We will definitely fix this again. We used a cheap bottle of Chardonnay and added some broth as one of the other reviews suggested. The next night we stir-fried the (few) leftovers - also tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Excellent! I used a little more than half a bottle of $4 chardonnay and filled it in with vegetable broth. Didn't have celery salt or coriander, but it was delicious! Shrimp was amazing,mushrooms were great and even beef wasn't bad. Very good way to spend a low cal evening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
We had a fondue party last night for friends and used this for beef, shrimp, and mushrooms and it was delicious! I would not change anything about it. I was a little worried when I brought it to a boil b/c it smelled a little off but tasted delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Marchbank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
There isn't enough stars for this recipie. It is easy and tastes so fabulous. I combine the cooked results with various dipping sauces and it is one of our families fav meals. It is a very tasty light and healthy broth for shrimp, chicken, steak, and veges. We are slow eaters so usually suppliment the broth with a little chicken stock as it evaporates off. A definate keeper just the way it is. Beats any of the broths we tried at un-named chain fondue restaraunt which were over seasoned for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Pretty good! We dipped asparagus, mushrooms and shrimp (pre-cooked) Will definitely make again and again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Excellent! We used beef tenderloin, chicken and veal. It was all delicious. Try it with the sauces from the "beef fondue with sauces" recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This a wonderful alternative to traditional peanut oil fondue. I served this at a dinner party with mushrooms, onions, green peppers, shrimp, chicken, and lamb. Although everything was yummy, the onions and lamb stole the show. One problem that we ran into was that once the food started cooking, the water level in the fondue pot was not high enough (I think this just depends on how deep your pot is), I put a can of chicken broth in the pot and we were back in business. Overall awesome way to fondue! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberjharmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Traditionally my family has always fried things when fonduing. When I went to college I wanted a healthier, tastier way to cook with fondue and this is the real deal. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States