Wine Cookies (Original Italian) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Tried this instead of my usual recipe. Love the texture of the dough. Easy to work with. Tastes great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Lynne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I just made these. My father is ecstatic. He says they taste just like the ones his Aunt Julie made when he was a boy. I think they will be even better aged for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weirton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MY4KIDS
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I have been on the search for authentic Italian cookie recipes as I wanted to change things up this year by making an Italian cookie tray. Thing were going well up until now. These came together easily but when I opened up the oven door after the suggested 25 minutes, I then busted out laughing until my sides hurt all the while thinking, "OMG, I can't put these on a christmas tray." My husband walked in the door from work and heard me laughing hysterically and looked at the tray and immediately started laughing. They were bland and had no taste. I will try to salvage them by throwing some icing on them or something. I hope all of you who try this recipe have better luck than I did. I took a pic and added it to the picture gallery for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
It's a good way to use up leftover red wine. I used a sort-of fruity merlot, and as another reviewer suggested I mixed the oil in first, then added the wine, and refridgerated for a few minutes to make the dough easier to handle. I rolled in sugar the same way I would a snickerdoodle and baked on a Silipat. The bottoms were browned but no sticking or burnt sugar. The taste is subtle, a little wine flavor, a little yeasty-tasting, and definitely not sweet, even with the sugar on the outside. It is nice as a snack with tea, but I'd only make these if I had leftover wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
We grew up with wine cookies but they were never purple! I made this recipe and used white wine instead. That is what my Mom always used. They were just as I remembered and a more appealing color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
After reading all these reviews complaining about not enough sugar, I thought : finally a good European cookies recipe ;-) and that was true ! I agree 100% with the comments about these bities being far from any American "regular cookies" : they are made for adults able to enjoy the simple taste of life, far away from any regressive memory ! Very easy to do and very flexible (you can use Madeira wine, Porto wine, etc...add a tiny touch of gingerbread spices...) My suggestion : the freshest the best ! I'm definitively to try it again, with cherry wine and cinnamon... or maybe in a salted version with olive oil and rosmarin...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I made these exactly as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This is an awesome recipe, it's even vegan! I would suggest doubling the sugar and adding sliced almonds. Also, for a less traditional twist, consider making them in a regular cookie shape. Keep in mind that the dough won't spread at all while cooking, if anything, it will slightly rise. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Love, love, love them. I made logs first and put in the fridge for 30 minutes, then cut and rolled. I sprinkled sugar on before baking and then I poured honey over the cookies after they cooled for a few minutes. Yummy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Very yummy, but one important step was left out of the directions. The oil must be added to the dry ingredients BEFORE the wine and worked into them well, first. This coats the flour and keeps it from soaking up as much wine and becoming gluey. Doing this, along with letting the dough cool awhile in the refrigerator before forming the cookies, means no sticky dough. In fact the dough turns out elastic and just like playdough--very easy to handle. To get the 2" diameter cookies, pull off just enough to make balls a little under an inch in diameter. They will be the right size when you flatten them. Be generous with the sugar coating. These go great with a cup of black tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States