Wine Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I liked the idea of this recipe, it just lacked a few basics. As many before stated adding S&P is a must. I also added minced garlic( by "minced" I mean using a micro-plainer and grating each bulb right into whatever you'd like) and I made it 1/4 cup Chardonnay instead of the cooking sherry. One last difference, I brushed with the butter/garlic, then "pre-cooked them in the micro for 5 mins. Then I topped them with shredded Cheddar Cheese, wrapped them loosely in foil and baked at 400* for 20 mins. Perfecto! My entire family really liked them. I am sure this is now a family favorite. Thanks for the original idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
These were great! I definitely used more than 1/4 tsp of butter, and I drizzled a tiny bit of olive over as well to help to prevent burning. I used some leftover red wine and added salt and pepper before baking. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
These are delicious if you substitute a good sherry, marsala, or whatever wine (white or light) you prefer, and add salt.This is good as written (four stars) but with the substitutions of olive oil for butter and with or without shallots and garlic, as others have mentioned, it can be tweaked to personal preferences. But it is a good recipe exactly as written. Good job, Rowdy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I fixed it with some marinated grilled chicken, and since I only have one oven, I cooked them in the microwave sliced, with onion powder, olive oil and white wine dribbled over. Not much flavor until we salted them, but at least it was a change from the usual "baked with sour cream and chives."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Pretty simple and very forgiving. I like to add extra onions to the bottom of the foil pouch so they caramelize in the sherry. Make them at least once a week. If I want a nicer presentation, I put them in an oval ramekin and seal it with foil--same effect without the effort required to plate the potato without messing up the accordion effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IvyMcAllister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This turned out well, but wasn't as good as I hoped it would be based on the ingredients - the onions and sherry didn't seem to add much taste to the potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
i have made a variation of this for years. i simply cut a canoe shaped wedge . discard insert butter s&p, garlic onion and table wine of the day. in the oven or on the grill.. always a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Tried these baked in a covered casserole dish, since aluminum foil is not environmentally friendly and also cooking in aluminum is harmful to health. They were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Very good recipe. I do a sliced foil wrapped potato on the grill. I use montreal steak seasoning, but no liquid beyond buttter. So I was anxious to try these. I used marsala wine, onion and a few slices of shallot. The family enjoyed, so I will do again. I be you could use chicken broth in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMR12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is one of those recipes that makes you exclaim right as you taste it. Was ASTOUNDING! Like suggestions, I made some changes. I used Christian Brothers California Dry Sherry. I replaced the butter with olive oil. Also added some garlic powder to the oil and drizzle sot sauce in with the wine BEFORE the oil. Also cut the onions VERY thin. Half moon shaped wedges fit in good going in an upside down U way. So they bend with the shape of the potato. Also, using a butter knife to hold the cuts open worked AMAZING! Glad I read that, The oil locked in the juice n flavors. The onion broke down to the consistency of the potatoes. I was cooking for someone that hates the texture of onions. They didn't even believe me they were in there since they had the same texture as the potato. The wine just turns it all to an amazing hand mashed texture. Other wines and different salts could change the taste a bit. So could stuffing in thin garlic slices. but it doesn't NEED improved. Tastes freaking AMAZING ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMTarien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States