Wine Baked Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I think the concept of this recipe is awesome, however I made a few changes as follows. I cut the potatoes as described and stuffed them with onions, but then I drizzled them with olive oil instead of butter. I then drizzled them with a table wine (merlot)and sprinkled them with kosher salt. The wine and olive oil give them such a nice flavor that is cooked in because of the foil (great idea!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah Banana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
A great recipe! I used olive oil and marsala cooking wine, but I left everything else the same. Next time, I'll definitely add some salt and pepper before I bake them, though. A few tips on stuffing the potatoes: Cut them about 3/4 of the way through, and slide a thin butter knife into the cuts and turn it slightly sideways so it holds the potato open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
The butter, onion and sherry can be increased or decreased as desired - still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is one of those recipes that makes you exclaim right as you taste it. Was ASTOUNDING! Like suggestions, I made some changes. I used Christian Brothers California Dry Sherry. I replaced the butter with olive oil. Also added some garlic powder to the oil and drizzle sot sauce in with the wine BEFORE the oil. Also cut the onions VERY thin. Half moon shaped wedges fit in good going in an upside down U way. So they bend with the shape of the potato. Also, using a butter knife to hold the cuts open worked AMAZING! Glad I read that, The oil locked in the juice n flavors. The onion broke down to the consistency of the potatoes. I was cooking for someone that hates the texture of onions. They didn't even believe me they were in there since they had the same texture as the potato. The wine just turns it all to an amazing hand mashed texture. Other wines and different salts could change the taste a bit. So could stuffing in thin garlic slices. but it doesn't NEED improved. Tastes freaking AMAZING ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMTarien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Really liked the flavor of this. Because I was pressed for time, I put the potatoes in the microwave and then finish them off in the oven after adding the butter, onion and sherry. I actually used marsala instead of cooking sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I've been making these for years, they are great on the grill as well. We put different twist such as Cajun spices, Italian, and Greek seasoning. We do this with yellow crook neck squash too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renea Gary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
great!! Loved this. My husband hates potatos but loved this different approach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
These potatoes were good The wine gave it a touch of sweet flavoring.... But it did take two of us to stuff the potatoes. We cut a slit down the middle and then cut slits crosswise and had one of us open the potato while the other stuffed. I also added a pat of butter into each boat and rosemary. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
When I told everyone that I was bringing these to a dinner party, most said "ewww". However, their reactions were much different when they ate it. I used my electric carving knife, hoping it would be easier to stuff things into the cuts. Whe had trouble getting the onion in, no less the butter. I used olive oil. I also added some Rosemary. It was a hit! Next time, I will try a mandalin for thinner slices of onion, and melted butter. I will be making this again, and so will the guests who asked for the recipe. Oh! I also bought a decent bottle of sherry, as they say, "if you wouldn't drink it, why cook with it." Same taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
So aromatic and flavorful, I will never make plain baked potatoes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Vue, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Mifflin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States