Wilted Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Pretty good. Not my absolute favorite but I would probably make it again. My suggestion is to follow the recipe exactly but just be careful not to add too much dressing to the spinach so it doesn't get overwhelmingly greasy. Also, add some tomatoes or other veggie to increase the health factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HMClements

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was really good, but a pound of bacon is way too much. I used 4 pieces, and it was plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA
Living In: Pierson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed this salad. I modified the dressing by omitting the sugar, and substituting 1/4cup lemon juice (fresh squeezed) for the red wine vinegar; I also added dashes of salt, pepper, and dried tarragon to the dressing. There was a lot of dressing, way too much for the bag (12 oz?) of baby spinach I used, so I ended up draining the salad bowl before serving. Nevertheless, this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was just great. I made little substitutions (rice wine vinegar, honey, red onion) but the basic recipe is perfectly delish. I scaled it back for one & it was fine. It went in my favorites book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
If you mix the eggs into the grease as stated you are cooking the eggs so they are ok to eat. I cut this in half (there was only three of us) cut back on the sugar some and used apple cider vingear (always have) and it was great. The eggs in the dressing make the dressing thick and it clinged to the spinach beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I like the bacon and eggs with the spinach. However, I felt the dressing was lacking the sweetness necessary to offset the salt and was too greasy. I would definitely not cut the sugar ( I used 3 Tbsp and found this not to be enough). I think this will be better with a sweet poppyseed dressing and the adddition of some fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Love this unhealthy salad! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebago, Maine, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
i love this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Just right! I cut recipe down and used equal parts, vinegar, sugar and bacon grease. Added grease to other that was aready mixed in a bowl. Less messy that way (no splatter) Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I love this recipe. Brings back lots of memories. the green onion is really necessary. Do not use maple bacon or it will be too sweet. I used a 10 oz. bag of baby spinach and it was just right. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States