Wilted Spinach and Almond Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This recipe is outstanding! I was looking for a last-minute salad to make with my homemade pizza last night and spinach was the only leafy green I had to work with, so I searched for a spinach salad. I was intrigued by this one and I am SO glad I found it! My husband said, "Mmmm...this is delicious" after the first bite and raved about it with every single bite after that. He's usually not keen on healthy substitutions for things, but he said he missed absolutely nothing with this compared to the bacon grease version. We craved it and made it again tonight and he said he would like to have it very often. Thanks so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I used the same amount of dressing for only two servings. It was so good. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Delish! The dressing is just right, and the flavors go so well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
The whole family likes this one! Love the tangy sweet flavor of the dressing. I added chunks of roasted chicken and hot bread to make it a meal. I always was a fan of the old-fashioned wilted spinach salad with bacon grease, but this is just as good and has a lot less fat. We'll enjoy this all summer with fresh spinach or greens from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
my spinach didn't really wilt but this was still delicious.. knowing how me and bf are i left out the honey and doubled the red wine vinegar (we love tart and punchy).. also lessened the sesame seed oil by a third.. i wanted a quick side for dinner so i left out the onion and hard boiled egg.. i might lessen the salt just a bit next time as it was a little on the salty side.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
The eggs and almonds add a nice touch to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
My husband loved this, my 4 kids weren't thrilled with it, I thought it was declicious, but too salty. The oldest child said the eggs were the key to enjoying the salad, but by that time, the younger three had already eaten their eggs and were just left with the spinach and onion staring back at them. I will make this again, but I will cut the salt in half. Oh, I substituted pine nuts for the almonds because I was out and didn't realize it until after I had already been to the grocery store. I would make it with either nut going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I came across this recipe while creating my menu/shopping list and added it.I am so glad I did I don't like the same old thing week after week.This added a new twist to Wendsday nights meal of left chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I really hate it when people change the recipe, why not submit your own but I'll do that anyway. First: This was just like Mom used to make and I loved it back then too but if you fry up a few strips of bacon first, crumbled and brown some onions in that bacon fat it will be ot die for. Second: I have found that I need to reheat the dressing several times after the first pour to really wilt that spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bfr610

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Another amazing recipe. A little tart, but amazing. My son (14) hates salads, but loves cooked spinach and even he enjoyed this. I think the only change I would make is to add a little more honey to take down the kick of the red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States