Wilted Lettuce Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This recipe sounded exactly like the one I remember from years ago . . . only I remembered sliced radishes in the salad. So, I added radishes. It was wonderful! One note, however. A head of leaf lettuce comes in different sizes, and some bacon will render more grease than other bacon. Adjust the quantities accordingly. You want the lettuce sufficiently coated so it will wilt, but not drown in the dressing. Also, make sure your lettuce is completely dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
THANKS!!! I had this salad twice, when I was 16. My grandmother made it, and I haven't been able to reproduce it since. I've been looking EVERYwhere for a recipe for this salad! It's so wonderful. Thanks :):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I tried this recipe for Easter dinner. I used the dressing with spinach instead of lettuce...used 1/2# of bacon to about 3 cups of spinach and one recipe of dressing. Turned out wonderful..everyone wanted the recipe. There wasn't a bit left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This was good, but use plenty of bacon...otherwise, it can be a little bland. The ingrediants are a wonderful blend, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
this one is very good. I have also added sliced hard boiled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I was thrilled to find this recipe, my mother made wilted lettuce all my life and I could not remember the vinegar/sugar ratio. She used regular white vinegar, sugar, no lemon juice....crumbled the bacon reserving the drippings pouring off grease a bit. She then added the vinegar and spices and simmered just a bit, then poured it over the torn lettuce (she just used iceberg back then, a bit of sliced onion and no radish) Then she covered the salad with a dinner plate to "wilt" the lettuce....It was delicious...and just reading the recipe has the juices flowing and a smile on my face! Thanks for whisking me back 45 years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
Delicious! just like mom used to make. I must have had more lettuce than called for, I think it could have used more dressing. My kids would'nt touch it but they are too young to appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Very good. Forgot to add bacon into lettuce at end but still was still good. I liked it and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
We liked this salad. It had good flavor, but I didn't have enough sauce to thoroughly coat the lettuce. It would have been nice if the recipe mentioned how much bacon grease you would need. I'll probably try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
I added more bacon, but this is a great recipe on its own. Simple, inexpensive and quick, those are three words I use in my best recipes, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States