Wilted Lettuce Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
Delicious! just like mom used to make. I must have had more lettuce than called for, I think it could have used more dressing. My kids would'nt touch it but they are too young to appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
good lettuce!! thanks, southernman cookin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southernmancooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2002
this one is very good. I have also added sliced hard boiled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
THANKS!!! I had this salad twice, when I was 16. My grandmother made it, and I haven't been able to reproduce it since. I've been looking EVERYwhere for a recipe for this salad! It's so wonderful. Thanks :):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This was good, but use plenty of bacon...otherwise, it can be a little bland. The ingrediants are a wonderful blend, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This recipe sounded exactly like the one I remember from years ago . . . only I remembered sliced radishes in the salad. So, I added radishes. It was wonderful! One note, however. A head of leaf lettuce comes in different sizes, and some bacon will render more grease than other bacon. Adjust the quantities accordingly. You want the lettuce sufficiently coated so it will wilt, but not drown in the dressing. Also, make sure your lettuce is completely dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I tried this recipe for Easter dinner. I used the dressing with spinach instead of lettuce...used 1/2# of bacon to about 3 cups of spinach and one recipe of dressing. Turned out wonderful..everyone wanted the recipe. There wasn't a bit left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
I added more bacon, but this is a great recipe on its own. Simple, inexpensive and quick, those are three words I use in my best recipes, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
My husband had this as a child and when he suggested "wilted lettuce salad" I thought ewwww..but was a very pleasant suprise. Even my picky 2 yr old ate it and said, "Yum" between every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
We liked this salad. It had good flavor, but I didn't have enough sauce to thoroughly coat the lettuce. It would have been nice if the recipe mentioned how much bacon grease you would need. I'll probably try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States