Wilted Lettuce Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is delicious! I was paid the ultimate compliment by hubby, it is better than his mothers. That's saying something because she was a wonderful cook. Certainly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Try doubling this recipe and serving it over mashed potatoes as a main dish.... more vinegar if need be..... it's marvelous. This is an age old recipe, handed down through generations and savored by all. I've yet to find someone who doesn't like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
During the summer, I make a lot of main dish salads. German Potato Salad has always been a favorite of mine, so of course I loved the wilted lettuce with the sweet/sour bacon dressing. I didn't use ALL of the bacon grease, and I upped the sugar. Also added broccoli florets and dried cranberries. (I sauteed the broccoli and the green onions in the dressing briefly to soften them a bit and add to the broccoli's bright green color.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Good, but will use olive oil instead. Seeing the solidified grease on the side of our bowls by the end of the meal was disturbing. We're also going to add a few other veggies. Otherwise, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was just the recipe I was looking for. Bumper crop of spring lettuce and even the 'no-vegetable' teenagers had two helpings. It only served four in my house. Yeahhhh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I was thrilled to find this recipe, my mother made wilted lettuce all my life and I could not remember the vinegar/sugar ratio. She used regular white vinegar, sugar, no lemon juice....crumbled the bacon reserving the drippings pouring off grease a bit. She then added the vinegar and spices and simmered just a bit, then poured it over the torn lettuce (she just used iceberg back then, a bit of sliced onion and no radish) Then she covered the salad with a dinner plate to "wilt" the lettuce....It was delicious...and just reading the recipe has the juices flowing and a smile on my face! Thanks for whisking me back 45 years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
YUM! I used way more than 5 slices of bacon, but still ended up short on dressing, as our bacon is pretty lean. Either way, it was delicious! I added some diced egg and regular onions to the bacon and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is the gold standard for wilted lettuce dressing. If you're going to use it for spinach, adding a little dijon mustard will really enhance the flavor and make it stand up to the spinach better. Adding some chopped egg and chicken livers works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
oh my goodness!!!!! this is the best salad that i know i just want to live on it (exaderating) but i mean its my favorite salad i love it.i know you will love it too.when i was a kid i had this every week.salad tuesday.my boyfriend loves it too.my sister would always yell bobby its time to eat salad and i would run down and scream and go get my salad.she said i was the best little brother in the world.i love her.this is the best salad in the world i love this so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
this is very good! even better when you have fresh lettuce right out of the garden!. thanks lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States