Wilted Lettuce Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Gave this 4 out of 5 stars only for the fact that it is not wilted lettuce salad without sliced radishes and a sprinkle of hot pepper/vinegar sauce! A definite summertime treat, especially when made from homegrown veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I made this the other night and it tasted EXACTLY how I remembered it as my Mom making. Not only did it taste exactly as I remembered it, it also gave me a warm fuzzy feeling about my Mom! 10 stars for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Had a question for anyone! This reminds me of my mother. Brought tears to my eyes. I want to make it but not sure about the fat content from the grease drippings (pretty high) from the five pieces of bacon. Is there some way I can modify and not use all the drippings? Tx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is an old time recipe. We used it on both lettuce, spinach and dandelions. Instead of red wine vinegar we used cider vinegar no lemon juice. As another poster stated add radishes sliced and sliced hard boiled eggs to make it a meal. The kids liked it well enough that we would have it once in awhile as lunch no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I grew up making and eating this salad. We use the baby leaf lettuce in the garden with green onions. Vidalia onions are also good in this salad thinly sliced. I must have sliced hard boiled eggs in this salad. Just isn't the same without it. The more bacon the better. You cann't have too much. If you don't want all the grease just pour some out into another container. Thanks Mary for putting down some measurements. My daughter-in-law has always asked me for some, but I never have them I just have always made this salad by sprinkling the sugar, salt and pepper and pouring the vinegar with the bacon grease. Then I have just tasted to see if the balance is right and go from there. Always has turned out great for me. Way I was taught to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is a total blast-from-the-past! I loved it as a kid, my kids loved it..............and here it is again. allrecipes.com does a wonderful job of bringing a wide variety of recipes to our attention, including ones we'd forgotten. Ya' just HAVE to eat this as soon as the hot liquid is poured on top. It gets nasty as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
We always had this dressing in Pennsyvania when I was a little girl in the 50's & 60's. The only fresh green available at that time in the winter were iceburg lettuce! We hunted down the baby dandelion sprouts as soon as the spring thaw began. There was nothing more welcome than this salad in the spring. It is also great as a dresing for potato salad. For that I add fresh dill and coarsely chopped sweet gerhkins. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
My mom use to make this wen I was little, but she didn't add lemon juice and just used regular vinegar I loved this recipe zoo much Im so glad I found this one it really reminds me of when I was little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by colenbabyk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Licking, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
really easy recipe, turned out lovely, will use this again many times, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I am sorry, maybe I did something wrong or it wasn't hot enough but when I poured the bacon grease onto lettuce (it was sizzling) but as I ate my salad it started to harden and made it almost like a 'shortening coating' on the lettuce. I couldn't take the texture and oily taste in my mouth so I had to toss it before finishing. I have had this salad before (never made it), and liked it but felt like I needed some hot tea to "unclog" my arteries after this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States