Wilted Lettuce Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
My grandmother use to make this salad all the time. I've been dreaming of it for years and wishing I had asked her how she made it. Thank you for sharing this recipe. It's a delicious salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I was really looking forward to trying out this recipe, unfortunately, when I added the vinegar and lemon juice (I had mixed them together) to the hot bacon drippings, in the pan, the whole thing exploded in my face. I had taken the pan off of the cook top and as I poured the vinegar/lemon juice into the drippings the contents of the pan began to splatter and pop. I stopped pouring, I had only poured about half of the vinegar/lemon juice into the pan, and quickly rushed the pan over to my kitchen sink to contain the splatters and pops. Once the pan was in the sink the contents exploded in my face. Thankfully, I managed to close my eyes but the hand that was still holding the the pan handle got burned pretty bad. After cleaning up I reread the directions to this recipe and it says to add the vinegar, lemon juice, sugar and pepper to the "hot bacon drippings". Am I the only person this has happened to? I read the least favorable reviews, on this recipe, and no one else mentions this occurring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
My mother-in-law used to make wilted lettuce salad - and I always indulged in seconds. She didn't use a recipe, so when we lost her we lost this wonderful dish too. This salad was similar to what she made, and tasted wonderful! I did alter it slightly by using 1 TB of suger instead of a tsp (actually I doubled the whole dressing portion of the recipe except the bacon). I didn't have green onions on-hand, so I substituted a little purple onion which I softened in the bacon grease. I used 2 small heads of Romaine lettuce. Well - my hubby & I didn't leave much behind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is one of the first recipies that I learned when I was young with the exception of adding a couple of tsp of dry mustard to the dressing I have even used yellow bottled mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Biscoe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Excellent as written but I did add tomatoes and some feta cheese after the "wilting" since I don't care for radishes. Also dod not use the bacon but olive oil for the "grease" to cut back on the bad fat contant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
yummy! forgot the onions and still pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Yum. This is so good even my non-veggie-eating husband went back for seconds. Also added radishess and green onion from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
My grandmother used to make this salad for me and she taught me a helpful hint to get the lettuce nice and wilted/saturated -- pour the warm dressing over the lettuce; swirl it around; drain it back into the pan; reheat the dressing. Repeat this process 3 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was different. It tasted like a mix between a salad and turnip greens. I found the recipe looking to use up some leaf lettuce and green onions. For the bacon I used thick cut pre-cooked bacon and heated it in the pan. I also just added black pepper to taste in the recipe. Make sure not to toss any of the little bit of dressing, when serving, because it was good at the bottom of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Really good! I omitted the onion because I like it, it does'nt like me! I also used splenda! Very Atkins friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States