Wilted Lettuce Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
My mother always made this for Thanksgiving and has been a tradiction even after her passing. Thanksgiving wouldn't be without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Watkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
The best way to fix this is to use leaf lettuce, the way we do it here in West Virginia is clean your leaf lettuce, cut up 4 green onions add a little sugar on top and then put vegetable oil and vinegar in a pan bring to a slight boil then pour over the lettuce. The best you can get...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
My 1st mother-in-law in Flint, MI made this several times. This would have been late 60's and have bought umpteen old cookbooks to try to find it. Loved it then; will now be able to pass it on to my family. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Fenner
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
An all time favorite salad. I replace the onions with hard-boiled egg and use fresh spinach rather than lettuce since it holds up better to being wilted. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This tastes just as good or better than my Mom's. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
My mom used to make this almost everyday in the summer when we were kids. Just went to the garden, picked some lettuce, then made "summer salad". Delicious! So glad I have the recipe again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
My husband mentioned his grandmother made wilted lettuce and he always liked it. I surprised him by making it and used this recipe. He loved it. I didn't have redwine vinegar on hand so used 1 tbsp of applecider vinegar and 1 tbsp of red wine. It worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Excellent recipe. My Mom made this but never measured anything. She would say "a pinch of salt,a scoop in the palm of your had, ect." So I am glad to see this. I do NOT use the lemon juice, but that is just because my Mom didn't and I loved hers. Thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Used spinach and balsamic vinegar (instead of red wine vinegar) because that's what I had on hand...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
My grandmother use to make this salad all the time. I've been dreaming of it for years and wishing I had asked her how she made it. Thank you for sharing this recipe. It's a delicious salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States