Wilted Lettuce Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
The best way to fix this is to use leaf lettuce, the way we do it here in West Virginia is clean your leaf lettuce, cut up 4 green onions add a little sugar on top and then put vegetable oil and vinegar in a pan bring to a slight boil then pour over the lettuce. The best you can get...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
My 1st mother-in-law in Flint, MI made this several times. This would have been late 60's and have bought umpteen old cookbooks to try to find it. Loved it then; will now be able to pass it on to my family. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Fenner
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
An all time favorite salad. I replace the onions with hard-boiled egg and use fresh spinach rather than lettuce since it holds up better to being wilted. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This tastes just as good or better than my Mom's. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
My mom used to make this almost everyday in the summer when we were kids. Just went to the garden, picked some lettuce, then made "summer salad". Delicious! So glad I have the recipe again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
My husband mentioned his grandmother made wilted lettuce and he always liked it. I surprised him by making it and used this recipe. He loved it. I didn't have redwine vinegar on hand so used 1 tbsp of applecider vinegar and 1 tbsp of red wine. It worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Excellent recipe. My Mom made this but never measured anything. She would say "a pinch of salt,a scoop in the palm of your had, ect." So I am glad to see this. I do NOT use the lemon juice, but that is just because my Mom didn't and I loved hers. Thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Used spinach and balsamic vinegar (instead of red wine vinegar) because that's what I had on hand...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
My grandmother use to make this salad all the time. I've been dreaming of it for years and wishing I had asked her how she made it. Thank you for sharing this recipe. It's a delicious salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I was really looking forward to trying out this recipe, unfortunately, when I added the vinegar and lemon juice (I had mixed them together) to the hot bacon drippings, in the pan, the whole thing exploded in my face. I had taken the pan off of the cook top and as I poured the vinegar/lemon juice into the drippings the contents of the pan began to splatter and pop. I stopped pouring, I had only poured about half of the vinegar/lemon juice into the pan, and quickly rushed the pan over to my kitchen sink to contain the splatters and pops. Once the pan was in the sink the contents exploded in my face. Thankfully, I managed to close my eyes but the hand that was still holding the the pan handle got burned pretty bad. After cleaning up I reread the directions to this recipe and it says to add the vinegar, lemon juice, sugar and pepper to the "hot bacon drippings". Am I the only person this has happened to? I read the least favorable reviews, on this recipe, and no one else mentions this occurring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States