Wilted Lettuce Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I was thrilled to find this recipe, my mother made wilted lettuce all my life and I could not remember the vinegar/sugar ratio. She used regular white vinegar, sugar, no lemon juice....crumbled the bacon reserving the drippings pouring off grease a bit. She then added the vinegar and spices and simmered just a bit, then poured it over the torn lettuce (she just used iceberg back then, a bit of sliced onion and no radish) Then she covered the salad with a dinner plate to "wilt" the lettuce....It was delicious...and just reading the recipe has the juices flowing and a smile on my face! Thanks for whisking me back 45 years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
YUM! I used way more than 5 slices of bacon, but still ended up short on dressing, as our bacon is pretty lean. Either way, it was delicious! I added some diced egg and regular onions to the bacon and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is the gold standard for wilted lettuce dressing. If you're going to use it for spinach, adding a little dijon mustard will really enhance the flavor and make it stand up to the spinach better. Adding some chopped egg and chicken livers works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
oh my goodness!!!!! this is the best salad that i know i just want to live on it (exaderating) but i mean its my favorite salad i love it.i know you will love it too.when i was a kid i had this every week.salad tuesday.my boyfriend loves it too.my sister would always yell bobby its time to eat salad and i would run down and scream and go get my salad.she said i was the best little brother in the world.i love her.this is the best salad in the world i love this so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
this is very good! even better when you have fresh lettuce right out of the garden!. thanks lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I doubled this except for the lemon and pepper. The dressing was still a bit tart and missing something till I put the crumbled bacon in to heat up in the dressing, then it was just right. Next time I will do half the bacon in the dressing and half as garnish for the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is a Great recipe, I use Romaine Lettuce and it really is Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Very Good and easy salad. Husband loved it too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Loved it just like I remember when I was growing up in the boot hills of MO. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Auburn, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Duncan, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Just plain excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States