Wilted Lettuce Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
My mother-in-law used to make wilted lettuce salad - and I always indulged in seconds. She didn't use a recipe, so when we lost her we lost this wonderful dish too. This salad was similar to what she made, and tasted wonderful! I did alter it slightly by using 1 TB of suger instead of a tsp (actually I doubled the whole dressing portion of the recipe except the bacon). I didn't have green onions on-hand, so I substituted a little purple onion which I softened in the bacon grease. I used 2 small heads of Romaine lettuce. Well - my hubby & I didn't leave much behind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is one of the first recipies that I learned when I was young with the exception of adding a couple of tsp of dry mustard to the dressing I have even used yellow bottled mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Biscoe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Excellent as written but I did add tomatoes and some feta cheese after the "wilting" since I don't care for radishes. Also dod not use the bacon but olive oil for the "grease" to cut back on the bad fat contant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
yummy! forgot the onions and still pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Yum. This is so good even my non-veggie-eating husband went back for seconds. Also added radishess and green onion from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
My grandmother used to make this salad for me and she taught me a helpful hint to get the lettuce nice and wilted/saturated -- pour the warm dressing over the lettuce; swirl it around; drain it back into the pan; reheat the dressing. Repeat this process 3 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was different. It tasted like a mix between a salad and turnip greens. I found the recipe looking to use up some leaf lettuce and green onions. For the bacon I used thick cut pre-cooked bacon and heated it in the pan. I also just added black pepper to taste in the recipe. Make sure not to toss any of the little bit of dressing, when serving, because it was good at the bottom of the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Really good! I omitted the onion because I like it, it does'nt like me! I also used splenda! Very Atkins friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Gave this 4 out of 5 stars only for the fact that it is not wilted lettuce salad without sliced radishes and a sprinkle of hot pepper/vinegar sauce! A definite summertime treat, especially when made from homegrown veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States