Wilted Lettuce Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
made as recipe said, was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
To avoid getting burnt add the onion into the hot grease first and let them cook until tender. I use sweet onion not green onion. Next carefully add the sugar and stir into a smooth bubbly mixture then very slowly add your liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by smithtrss
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I love it! It tastes great plus easy and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This brings back memories of my grandmother, who used to make wilted lettuce salad when I was a kid. I followed the recipe to a tee, except I left out the lemon juice because it doesn't need it. It was just like I remembered, strong, tangy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
My mother always made this for Thanksgiving and has been a tradiction even after her passing. Thanksgiving wouldn't be without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Watkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
The best way to fix this is to use leaf lettuce, the way we do it here in West Virginia is clean your leaf lettuce, cut up 4 green onions add a little sugar on top and then put vegetable oil and vinegar in a pan bring to a slight boil then pour over the lettuce. The best you can get...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
My 1st mother-in-law in Flint, MI made this several times. This would have been late 60's and have bought umpteen old cookbooks to try to find it. Loved it then; will now be able to pass it on to my family. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robin Fenner
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
An all time favorite salad. I replace the onions with hard-boiled egg and use fresh spinach rather than lettuce since it holds up better to being wilted. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This tastes just as good or better than my Mom's. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
My mom used to make this almost everyday in the summer when we were kids. Just went to the garden, picked some lettuce, then made "summer salad". Delicious! So glad I have the recipe again. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States