Wilted Cabbage Salad with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Delish! The kids didn't much like it though:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is a great side dish. I keep cabbage in the refrigerator all the time. It seems to keep a really long time. I call mine fried cabbage, whether you put vinegar on it, sour cream, or plain it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swishersweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
When I first saw it, it reminded me of a wilted lettuce that my mother-in-law used to make, so I tried it. I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Tony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
this was good, but I can honestly say that my grandmother from Ireland made this a lot. Some times more than my father would have liked. We used the ends of salted pork to make it and no garlic. I really enjoyed the changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I changed a few things after making it the 1st time exactly as recipie is, I do not use the vinegar (as it is not a flavor we care for that much) I also add more garlic and add fresh sliced rings of onions. I cook the onion and garlic in coconut oil, not the bacon fat. It is a lot of work for me, because I do not own a food processor, but well worth it, as it has become one of my favorite veggie dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I used apple cider vinegar which sweetened it just a bit and I seasoned it with creole. I also drained the dripping to save on fat calories, still tasted amazing. I have made this recipe with ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
1-5-12: Ann says 'best cooked cabbage I've ever had.' 2-22-13: Same reaction this time. 3-12-13: Ditto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I loved this- all my favorite flavors in one dish, but my boyfriend found it a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
We all really enjoyed this recipe, but I couldn't give it five stars because I tasted it as is and it wasn't quite right to me. I added a packet of Splenda to it after making it as per the directions, and the Splenda made a huge difference. It wasn't sweet at all, but it helped to cut down on the zing from all the vinegar. If you're eating low carb, I would definitely try this recipe. The only thing is, I did not save the bacon fat to cook the onion and garlic in. I used olive oil to make it healthier, and it tasted absolutely fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is a good comfort food but I wouldn't recommend using all the reserved bacon grease and am not even convinced that's what the author had in mind. That's an awful lot of fat! Use common sense and do what you think you should do. For me, I use the bit of grease left in the pan after removing it and a drizzle of olive oil. I don't have tarragon vinegar, so use raspberry vinegar, which I like with this better than apple cider vinegar. I also like to add 3 or so TBS. of brown sugar and water so mine comes out more like a southern collard green recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States