Wilma's Fish Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Pretty good as is. Made it with the following revisions: Substituted cooking sherry for the 1/2c milk. Substituted 5-6c sourdough bread for the 3c of bread and crackers Omitted the savory only because I didn't have any. Instead of multiple layers, poured the soup mix over the fish, and then the bread/onion/herb mixture on top of that. Poured the melted butter over the bread. The wine added a nice flavor so it wasn't as bland. Lower part of the layer of bread soaked up the flavors of the sauce nicely, while leaving a crusty top that added a nice texture to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I thought it was pretty pasty with all of those breadcrumbs in the layers...I would not recommend wasting fish to make this recipe. Maybe just use the soup, but leave out the breadcrumb part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
We liked this. I'll certainly make it again. No one raved over it but no one dislike it, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I thought this was excellent. I follwed the recipe exactly. It was awesome. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITEE0971

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I liked this recipe, I think that it would be really good for people who don't like the tase of fish. I used cheese flavoured ritz crackers on top, my husband liked it but said it wasn't his favourite, he would have rather you could taste the flavour of the fish more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkie, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was quite good. I did use flounder instead of haddock (as it's what we had), and my pinches were about 1/2 tsp each. I also didn't have any marjoram, so I used 1/4 tsp of white pepper instead. (No, not really an exact substitution, but it worked!) And I reduced the butter to 1/4 cup rather than the 1/2 it calls for. Everything else I kept the same, and it turned out quite well. It was enjoyed by the whole family, and I'd make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I sprinkled the fish with some garlic wine seasoning and was generous with my "pinches" of herbs and seasonings with the bread crumbs. I used sourdough bread, adding a little Beau Monde seasoning, to make bread cubes, which for us pushed the dish from 4 stars to 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Delicious. I didn't have savory so I just used white pepper. I added a little dried cumin and rosemary along with the basil but I didn't have marjoram. I also used crushed Cheez-it hot and spicy crackers instead of butter crackers. Next time I think I will used cooked diced white potatoes also. It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
not much taste... I rescued the fish from the leftovers and used it to make fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States