Will's Spicy New Orleans Catfish Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Woooo hooo! Finally, a base recipe which allowed me to make the catfish I've always wanted! The cayenne dry marinade was fabulous, and cutting the fillets while frozen made for skinny and ultimately crispy finished "fries." I coated in a mixture of fine organic cornmeal, fine flour, seasoned salt, granulated garlic, onion powder, and a little more cayenne for extra kick. Crunchy, delicious, and very addictive, even for my toddler grandson. Frying catfish may not be "rocket science" (to quote a previous reviewer,) but if it were? This recipe made it into orbit for me! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This was an amazing recipe that my husband would love to enjoy weekly! It is truly an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
My yankee super market didn't have any corn flour so I substituted fine corn meal. But they did have fresh farm-raised catfish fillets. I served it as a sandwich on toasted hard rolls slathered with creole tarter sauce. With cole slaw on the side it made a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
I was not a fan of catfish in the States, and I've never seen it here in Australia...so I tried it with a salmon fillet I had in the freezer...WOW is all I can say...this is amazingly tasty for the few ingredients it uses! Once you are done with frying the fish - deep fry your fries. The oil (now flavored with the cayenne) makes them tastier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDCWOLF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Simply awesome. Nothing more to be said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I was looking for a way to use up corn flour. I love this recipe. No need to buy fish fry if you have corn flour. I let it cook until it gets nice and crispy. I also like to add a little thyme in with the cayenne. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Pie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I don't do spicy foods so I substituted the ceyenne with smoked paprika. Instead of fries I made nuggets. I also sprinkled the nuggets with garlic powder once they came out of the oil. But the overall finished product was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I loved it, but make sure not to put too much breading on catfish like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
We used corn meal rather than corn flour, and added some salt. Everyone loved this catfish and it was wonderfully crispy. The best cornmeal catfish we've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
needs more heat but i always say that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Pecoraro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States