Will's Spicy New Orleans Catfish Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
With only three ingredients to embelish the fish, it's difficult to award stars, or think of it as a recipe. It is, however, very good. To people who can't find corn flour in the store, grind cornmeal (white or yellow) in your food processor or blender until it's the consistency of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
everyone loved it even my 5 year old a very picky eater he got seconds!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
These were pretty good. Basically just fried catfish, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahsbleucheese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
excellent! Like others, I could not find the corn flour in the store, so we used reg. flour. Turned out wonderfully! Next time I may add more caynne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Had to use corn meal, couldn't find corn flour. Added a T of seasoned salt to the mix. These made excellent catfish po'boys on toasted french rolls topped with shredded cabbage, carrots, and spicey tartar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I'm surprised at how great this fish turned out! I used a LOT of cayenne and put some cajun seasoning in the Maseca Masa I used for the corn flour. My only recomendation is they need plenty of salt. Salt the flour and salt them when they come out of the hot grease. I also fried up some corn fritters, might as well while the grease is hot, right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I was looking for a way to use up corn flour. I love this recipe. No need to buy fish fry if you have corn flour. I let it cook until it gets nice and crispy. I also like to add a little thyme in with the cayenne. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Pie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
needs more heat but i always say that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Pecoraro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Woooo hooo! Finally, a base recipe which allowed me to make the catfish I've always wanted! The cayenne dry marinade was fabulous, and cutting the fillets while frozen made for skinny and ultimately crispy finished "fries." I coated in a mixture of fine organic cornmeal, fine flour, seasoned salt, granulated garlic, onion powder, and a little more cayenne for extra kick. Crunchy, delicious, and very addictive, even for my toddler grandson. Frying catfish may not be "rocket science" (to quote a previous reviewer,) but if it were? This recipe made it into orbit for me! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Honestly this recipe isn't that big of a secret to have been kept secret. Frying catfish isn't rocket science.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States