Will's Spicy New Orleans Catfish Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Woooo hooo! Finally, a base recipe which allowed me to make the catfish I've always wanted! The cayenne dry marinade was fabulous, and cutting the fillets while frozen made for skinny and ultimately crispy finished "fries." I coated in a mixture of fine organic cornmeal, fine flour, seasoned salt, granulated garlic, onion powder, and a little more cayenne for extra kick. Crunchy, delicious, and very addictive, even for my toddler grandson. Frying catfish may not be "rocket science" (to quote a previous reviewer,) but if it were? This recipe made it into orbit for me! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This was good but thought could use more seasonings so after frying one for taste I added some garlic powder, onion powder, and seasoning salt to the corn flour. Do think I will continue to use my mixture of cornmeal with a bit of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
My yankee super market didn't have any corn flour so I substituted fine corn meal. But they did have fresh farm-raised catfish fillets. I served it as a sandwich on toasted hard rolls slathered with creole tarter sauce. With cole slaw on the side it made a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
I was not a fan of catfish in the States, and I've never seen it here in Australia...so I tried it with a salmon fillet I had in the freezer...WOW is all I can say...this is amazingly tasty for the few ingredients it uses! Once you are done with frying the fish - deep fry your fries. The oil (now flavored with the cayenne) makes them tastier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDCWOLF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
With only three ingredients to embelish the fish, it's difficult to award stars, or think of it as a recipe. It is, however, very good. To people who can't find corn flour in the store, grind cornmeal (white or yellow) in your food processor or blender until it's the consistency of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Honestly this recipe isn't that big of a secret to have been kept secret. Frying catfish isn't rocket science.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Mmmm. Although 1tsp cayenne really wasn't that spicy. Next time: MORE. No corn flour, so used corn meal. Nice, crunchy texture. I just used the nuggets I had and sliced them in half. We enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Simply awesome. Nothing more to be said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I added a bit of salt to the actual fish itself as well as some onion powder. This is now my default fried fish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
This was an amazing recipe that my husband would love to enjoy weekly! It is truly an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States