Will's Spicy New Orleans Catfish Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Angelgr21
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Corn flour can be found in your local grocery store under the name Masa or Maseca or in Hispanic grocery stores. I also seasoned the flour with coarse salt, pepper, coarse garlic powder and paprika. I didn't use a deep fryer so I use plenty of canola oil and just turned it once. I put the frozen pieces in a zip lock bag and added the flour and season to the bag. Tossed it around and fried it. Turning it once. Set it on paper towel to drain out some of the oil. The entire process took 20mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Donnellson, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Used 3/4 C corn meal & 1/4 C flour with 2 t creole seasoning, 1/4 t garlic salt, dry marinated with cayenne, and wah-lah! Very crunchy and salty enough for me. I also deep fried my french fries in the oil afterwards. So good. Finished the meal with watermellon (something healthy to counteract all the deep fried stuff!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
So good. A few additions added to the corn meal for more flavor, but this is a winner in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Amazingly easy and perfect recipe to use for fish tacos! Fill warmed tortillas with Will's Spicy New Orleans Catfish fries, shredded lettuce, diced (fresh) tomatoes, taco cheese, and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I've fried catfish for decades and also come to allrecipes all the time to try dishes and rarely give a review, but late this evening I tried this for a snack, not deviating too much from similar methods. Since I didn't have corn flour on hand I quickly googled it and found I could make it myself by milling corn meal in the Vitamix. So I did. Only after cooking the recipe did I realize that instead of using the teaspoon or so of paprika, I had grabbed red pepper instead. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly as written. Gosh, this is an outstanding way to fry up catfish. I actually like the red pepper but next time I'll probably use half paprika and half red pepper to tone down the heat. Thanks so much for, yes, a simple recipe but with a unique and delicious twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This recipe is for when I need my spicy needs filled. It's not nearly as spicy as you might think when you read this recipe,and if you cook your fish first and then toss in some tater tots you will have some of the best tots ever! Like many others I used fine ground corn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I've been cooking catfish pretty much this way for 30 years; however, I dry "marinate" also with salt and pepper as well as the cayenne and cut my strips thicker. This breading method works well for frying chicken, but using wheat flour instead of corn meal or corn flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Great, simple and delicious. I also used a bit more cayenne the 2nd time around. Along with mixing cornmeal with flour- I added season salt, garlic powder & pinch of pepper. It's a great base recipe- I say tweak it how you like and go from there, afterall- nobody knows your families 'taste' better than you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimyloo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Made theese for dinner last night, and they were VERY bland. Did not like at all. will not be makeing again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States