Willie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
My son requested this for his 10th birthday, so I gave it a go. Came out great- not hard at all to make. However, the birthday boy thought it was "too chocolatey", whatever the heck that means, lol! Honestly- it is very, very rich. You need to slice a very small piece and make sure you have plenty of milk... or vanilla ice cream... to complement it. I thought that perhaps I would reduce the amount of ganache when I make it again, but my husband says NO WAY. He savored every last bite, and has already requested that this be what I make for HIS birthday this year. I'm wondering how it would be with milk or white chocolate, and I might have to experiment a bit next time. Bottom line is, if you love dark chocolate, this is the cake for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JanelleS
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
It's very rich, but absolutely delicious. I would use about 1/2 the ganache to cut down on the richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
No words :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasna
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
My grandkids (autism) loved this GF cake. And so did I. This will become a standard in my kitchen every time they are here. Thanks! Theresa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe because of the reviews, my mom is gluten free and the ingredients are not hard to find. This is an excellent recipe!!! Mom was very happy with it! It is very rich so you only need a small piece and some cold milk. I didnt need to use all of the ganache though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Sweatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Fantastic for a flourless cake! I used milk chocolate for the ganache. You can safely cut the glaze recipe in half. I had a pool of glaze around my cake and plenty left in the bowl. Save yourself half a pound of chocolate and don't make the full batch of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was an excellent cake, but I've had better ones. I'm still on the hunt for the best flourless cake available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is a lovely flourless chocolate cake recipe. It's super-rich and like a baked chocolate mousse. I dusted the top with icing sugar and served with thick cream and berries. My friends loved this when I served it recently. Like most flourless cakes it doesn't look terribly pretty as the top sinks and cracks, but the taste makes up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I made this cake for a friend who has celiac's disease and it was a huge hit. The chocolate ganache was very good, but if I make again I will put it in the refrigerator to set. (I'm new to this so maybe that seems obvious but...) I would have also used less bitter chocolate for the topping. Otherwise a fabulous melt in your mouth cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States